14 May 2013

Egypt: Rwanda's Team in Cairo for Davis Cup

Rwanda's four-man team left the country on Monday for Egypt ahead of this year's Africa Group III tournament, which begins on Tuesday at the Smash Tennis Academy in Cairo.

Rwanda will be represented by Jean Claude Gasigwa, Dieudonne Habiyambere, Mubarak Harerimana and Hamissi Gatete. The team is coached by the country's former number one, Slyvain Rutikanga.

The 13-nation tournament will be played on a round robin basis, with top nations in pools A and B drawn to play against top nations in pools C and D.

Ivory Coast, tied in 3rd position with Zimbabwe last year withdrew together with Lesotho.

Countries that will battle it out for the two slots are Algeria, Botswana, Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Rwanda's best Davis Cup performance was a seventh place finish in Europe/Africa Zone Group III in 2009.

Copyright © 2013 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.