15 May 2013

Kenya: Cabinet Secretaries Take Oath of Office

Fifteen Cabinet Secretaries nominees have been sworn in today after Members of Parliament yesterday approved the list of names forwarded to the parliament by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Former water minister Charity Ngilu and and her counterpart Tourism minister Najib Balala were among Cabinet Secretary nominees who took the oath of office in a ceremony held at State House. The others are: Fred Matiang'i, (Information, Communication and Technology),Henry Rotich(National Treasury), James Macharia Wainaina(Ministry of Health), Adan Mohammed(Ministry of Industrialization and Enterprise Development), Rychelle Omamo (Defence Ministry Cabinet Secretary), Professor Jacob Kaimenyi(Ministry of Education, Science and Technology), Eng Michael Kamau(Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure), Davis Chirchir(Energy and Petroleum), Ann Waiguru (Devolution and Planning), Phyllis Kandie(East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism), Prof Judy Wakhungu(Environment, Water and Natural resources), Felix Kosgei(Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries) and Dr Hassan Wario (Sports, Culture and Arts).

Najib Balala will be incharge of the Mining ministry while Charity Ngilu will take up the Lands, housing and Urban development ministry.

Uhuru thanked the national assembly for conducting the vetting of the cabinet nominees. He expressed confidence in the incoming cabinet secretaries abilities after they passed the vetting and approval by parliament reminding them of Kenyans expectations of the new government under the new constitution.

" The Kenyan people want to see positive transformation of social and economic transformation, " said Uhuru.

Ambassador Amina Mohammed who was nominated for the position Cabinet Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is yet to be sworn in.

MPs yesterday ganged up to save cabinet nominee for the East African community docket Phyllis Kandie after Baringo central district poverty eradication chair Jackton Kimutai filed an affidavit objecting her nomination as cabinet secretary.

Copyright © 2013 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.