18 June 2013

Zimbabwe: 14 Get Nod to Contest On Zanu-PF Ticket

Fourteen aspiring senators have been nominated to contest Zanu-PF primaries in Bulawayo Province. Each province is supposed to have six candidates for the Senate. However, the acting provincial secretary for administration, Cde Mandlenkosi Tshuma, said the party was yet to reveal the constituencies where the candidates would be contesting.

"We have 14 candidates ready to contest in the Senatorial primary elections, where we are going to come up with the required three men and three women to represent the party in the harmonised elections," said Cde Tshuma.

"The candidates are Professor Callistus Ndlovu, Cdes Emson Masuku, Ishmael Jassat, Davidson Pakarimwa, Canisiya Satiya, Shadreck Mukaro, Violet Mhute, Enock Mazimuka, Violet Ncube, Abednigo Mpofu, Anna Moyo, Rachel Mlilo, Ophar Ncube, Absolom Sikhosana, Angeline Masuku and Modecai Mlotshwa."

A total of six women were also selected for the proportional representation quota in the National Assembly.

Cde Eunice Sandi would represent Khumalo constituency and Cde Molly Mpofu has been selected for Masotsha Ndlovu constituency while Cde Fidelia Maphosa would be in Mabutweni.

In Emganwini constituency Cde Esinath Moyo would represent the party while Cdes Mavis Mutodi and Sihle Thebe have been selected to represent Gwabalanda and Mzilikazi constituencies respectively.

In Matabeleland North, Professor Jonathan Moyo would stand unopposed for Tsholotsho North with Cdes Cain Mathema, Zenzo Sibanda and Jabulani Nkomo set to vie for Tsholotsho South.

Two candidates, Cdes Sithembiso Nyoni and Maplot Donga would contest in Nkayi North while five, Cdes Stars Mathe, Nkululeko Nkala, Lot Fuzwayo, Ethel Ndlovu and Tshata Mguni would contest in Nkayi South.

Cde Obert Mpofu would stand unopposed in Umguza constituency.

In Bubi constituency Cde Clifford Sibanda would square off with Cdes Sanny Mguni and Cecil Mathambo.

In the Midlands the elections are set to be a tense affair as some constituencies had as many as 12 aspiring candidates willing to represent the party in the National Assembly.

Gokwe-Gumunyu constituency received the highest number of aspiring candidates after 12 people submitted their applications.

The constituency has been without an MP following the death of Cde Ephrem Mushoriwa. The second highest number of aspiring candidates was recorded by Chirumanzu constituency which had nine aspiring candidates while Gokwe-Chireya was third with eight applications.

Cde Phares Marimba is the incumbent MP for Chirumanzu while Cde Cephas Sindi is the incumbent MP for Gokwe-Chireya.

Midlands State University lecturer Mr Christopher Gwatidzo has expressed his desire to swap his academic hat for a political one after expressing interest for the Gweru Urban seat on a Zanu-PF ticket. He, however, has to deal with two other aspiring candidates before he earns the right to represent the revolutionary party in Gweru Urban.

Four aspiring candidates submitted their names for Mkoba constituency while Chiwundura constituency received three applications.

Zanu-PF national spokesperson Cde Rugare Gumbo would battle it out for the Mberengwa Senatorial seat with another senior party official, Cde July Moyo, a former Midlands Governor.

Other senior party officials set to fight it out in the primary elections include Shurugwi South MP, Cde Francis Nhema who would square off with Cde Robert Nyathi. Cde Flora Buka would face Cde Justice Meya for the Gokwe-Chireya constituency.

Defence Minister Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa was unopposed in the Chirumanzu-Zibagwe constituency.

Zanu-PF provincial chairperson for Midlands, Cde Jason Machaya urged party candidates to remain peaceful as they worked towards attaining a resounding victory for the revolutionary party. He said time was running out and urged teamwork during and after the party's primary elections.

"Time is not on our side and what I want to urge party cadres is to go out and campaign towards a resounding victory for Zanu-PF, come July 31 when elections are scheduled to be held. President Mugabe has repeatedly told us about the need for peace. We therefore call upon our party supporters to remain peaceful during and after the elections," he said.

Midlands province has 28 House of Assembly constituencies and six Senatorial constituencies.

In Matabeleland South only Cde Obedingwa Mguni was unopposed for the National Assembly, in Mangwe. It has emerged that Politburo member Cde Richard Ndlovu and Cde Khaya Moyo would square off in the bid to stand in the Bulilima-Mangwe Senatorial seat. Earlier, indications were that Cde Khaya Moyo was unopposed but Cde Ndlovu yesterday said he was also eyeing the seat.

In Beitbridge East, Cde Kembo Mohadi would battle with the district war veterans chairman Cde Philemon Mbedzi, Cdes Johane Ndou and Cde Lawrence Tshili.

Out of 167 local authority wards, 96 candidates went through the process unopposed. Provincial chairman Cde Andrew Langa would face Cdes Gibson Siziba and Patrick Hove in Insiza North.

Nine candidates, Cdes William Dewa, Retired Colonel George Nare, Retired Brigadier-General Levy Mayihlome, Jones Nkomo, Fungai Nkomo, Thomas Mguni , Xolani Moyo and Themba Mathuthu will compete for Umzingwane seat.

In Insiza South there are Cdes Spare Sithole, former Radio Two DJ Malaki Nkomo, Vakatsha Langa and Esau Moyo. In Matobo North, former diplomat and veteran nationalist Dr Kotsho Dube is being challenged by local businessman, Cde Never Khanye while there are two cadres each in Bulilima East and West as well as Matobo South.

Copyright © 2013 The Herald. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.