27 June 2013

Nigeria: 'Don't Be Intimidated By Bolt, Others'

Falilat Ogunkoya-Omotayo, the athletes' representative on board of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN), has advised Nigerian athletes to the 14th International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) World Championships to stay focused.

The IAAF World Championships, tagged "Moscow 2013", is scheduled for August 10-18 at the Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow.

Ogunkoya-Omotayo said in an interview in Lagos yesterday that the 18 athletes on the provisional list for the Moscow championships should not be intimidated by world and Olympic champions.

She urged the team to train hard, saying that they should not be cowed by Olympic Champion Usain Bolt of Jamaica, IAAF World Champion Yohan Blake and the female IAAF 100 metres Champion U.S Carmelita Jeter.

"My advice to them is for them to focus, that they are putting a lot of hard work for them to qualify at A standard going into the world championships.

"Just to keep focus and not worry about anything that is going on around them, for them to make themselves and Nigeria proud as a whole.

"Yes, we always have a chance when we work very hard, no athlete want to go to a championships without winning a medal.

"It is a goal that you set for yourself and I believe that 'Never say Never', they have two legs and if you work very hard, you will surely achieve your goals."

Athletes on the provisional list are Ogho-Oghene Egwero (100m), Noah Akwu (400m), Leoman Momoh (800m).

Noah Akwu, Abiola Onakoya, Isah Saliu, Tobi Ogunmola and Gerald Odeka will feature in the 4x400m relay but are still listed in the B standard.

Gloria Asumnu and Blessing Okagbare will feature in the 100m, Ajoke Odumosu in 400m hurdles and Regina George in 400m in the A standard category.

Blessing Okagbare will also feature in the 200m and long jump.

Oluwakemi Adekoya will feature in the 400m hurdle, while Omolara Omotosho, Josephine Ehigie and Patience Okon will run in the 400m.

Stephanie Kalu will participate in the 100m and Ugoma Ndu will take part in the 400m hurdle in the female B standard.

For the women 4x100m relay are Blessing Okagbare, Gloria Asumnu, Peace Uko and Stephanie Kalu, while Regina George, Omolara Omotosho, Patience Okon, Josephie Ehige and Bukola Agbokunloko will feature in the 4x400m relay. NAN

Copyright © 2013 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.