10 July 2013

Nigeria: Jonathan Nominates Eight Ambassadors

President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday forwarded the names of eight people to the Senate for confirmation as ambassadors.

They are Mr. O.F Muoh(Imo); Mrs. T.J Chinwuba-Akabogu (Anambra); Mr. Adamu Emozozo (Edo); Mr. A. Echi (Benue); Mrs. G.M. Quist-Adebiyi (Lagos); Mr. M. Dauda(Borno); Mr. Hakeem O. Sulaiman (Ogun) and Dr. Bolere Ketebu (Bayelsa).

The President also nominated Dr. Adamu Mohammed Fika, a former federal permanent secretary and former clerk of the National Assembly as Chairman National Assembly Service Commission and 12 others as members.

In another letter, the President also forwarded names of 22 people for confirmation as members of the Federal Character Commission (FCC).

Seven of the nominees are for re-appointment for a second and final tenure of five years while 16 are new members for a tenure of five years.

Copyright © 2013 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.