17 July 2013

South Africa/Nigeria: Mandela Challenge Tickets On Sale

Tickets for the annual Nelson Mandela Challenge between Bafana Bafana and the current African champions, Nigeria, are now on sale countrywide.

The clash will be played at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on 14 August, a few days before the inaugural Mandela Sport and Culture Day on 17 August.

Kick-off is at 20:00. Tickets are selling for R50 and R100 at Computicket and Shoprite/Checkers outlets around the country.

First match

Zambia was the first country to take part in the annual Nelson Mandela Challenge match in 1994, losing 2-1 to Bafana in a thrilling encounter played at Ellis Park in Johannesburg.

However, last year, the 2012 champions of Africa, known by their nickname of Chipolopolo, defeated Bafana Bafana 1-0 in front of the home fans at the FNB Stadium.

The Mandela Challenge has been played on an annual basis except in 2001, when it had to be cancelled after Mexico withdrew at the last minute.

Challenge record

Bafana have won the Challenge seven times and lost it on eight occasions. Three matches ended in a stalemate, with the last being against Cote d'Ivoire at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth in 2011.

South Africa has faced Nigeria just once in the Nelson Mandela Challenge: in 2004, Bafana Bafana won 2-1 in Johannesburg.

Last year, the tournament returned to Johannesburg for the first time since the 2007 clash between South Africa and the United States of America.

Over the last four years, it was played in Rustenburg (2008), Phokeng near Rustenburg (2009), Cape Town (2010), and Port Elizabeth (2011).


1994, Johannesburg: SA 2-1 Zambia

1995, Johannesburg: SA 1-1 Argentina

1996, Johannesburg: SA 2-3 Brazil

1997, Johannesburg: SA 0-2 The Netherlands

1998, Johannesburg: SA 2-1 Egypt

1999, Pretoria: SA 1-0 Sweden

2000, Johannesburg: SA 0-0 France

2002, Johannesburg: SA 1-1 Senegal (1-4 pen)

2003, Potchefstroom: SA 2-1 Costa Rica

2004, Johannesburg: SA 2-1 Nigeria

2005, Port Elizabeth: SA 2-3 Senegal

2006, London: SA 0-1 Egypt

2007, Johannesburg: SA 1-2 USA

2008, Rustenburg: SA 3-2 Cameroon

2009, Phokeng: SA 2-1 Norway

2010, Cape Town, SA 0-1 USA

2011, Port Elizabeth, SA 1-1 Côte d'Ivoire

2012, Johannesburg SA 0-1 Zambia

- SAinfo reporter and SAnews.gov.za

Copyright © 2013 SouthAfrica.info. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.