22 July 2013

Kenyan County Commissioners Re-Organised Under New Structure

Kenya's Public Service Commission (PSC) has created new posts to accommodate the 47 county commissioners appointed by former President Mwai Kibaki, Kenya's Daily Nation reported Sunday (July 21st).

Positions under the county commissioners have been re-organised into an administrative hierarchy, said PSC Secretary Alice Otwala in a letter to Interior Ministry Permanent Secretary Mutea Iringo.

County commissioners were declared unconstitutional by a high court ruling last year. On June 14th, however, that decision was overturned by Kenya's Court of Appeal.

Former provincial commissioners have been re-deployed as regional co-ordinators in the county governments, Kenya's The Standard reported.

They will be in charge of a cluster of counties, most likely those in what used to be the eight provinces, Iringo said.

"It will be very difficult to monitor the counties without people in charge of them at the national government. These regional co-ordinators will make this work much easier," he said.

Copyright © 2013 Sabahi. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.