31 July 2013

South Sudan's Kiir Names New Cabinet, Leaves Out VP Post

Photo: USAID
South Sudanese President Salva Kiir Mayardit

Juba — South Sudan president Salva Kiir on Wednesday issued a decree appointing 19 cabinet ministers and 10 deputies, a week after he dissolved the entire government.

The president, in several decrees read on the state-owned SSTV, left unoccupied the position of the vice-president and minister for the presidency.

Several new faces were elevated to cabinet in the 31 July decree, issued under Article 112 (1) of the Transitional Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan.

The president, for instance, appointed Kuol Manyang Juuk as minister for defense and veteran affairs, Obuto Mamur Mete in the office for the president for national security service, Telar Riing Deng for justice, Aggrey Tisa Sabuni for finance,commerce and economic planning, Aleu Ayeny Aleu in-charge of interior and wildlife conservation, among others.

The South Sudan leader, had earlier appointed Barnaba Marial Benjamin, formerly the information minister to head the foreign affairs ministry.

Meanwhile, Stephen Dhiew Dau for petroleum and mining, industry and environment and information, Micheal Makuei for broadcasting, telecommuncation and postal services, Jemma Nunu Kumba for lands, housing and physical planning, among others were some of the few ministers retained by the president.

Kiir, under Article 117(1) of the same constitution also issued another decree appointing 10 deputy ministers in the newly formed government. The new appointments bring to 29 the total number of ministers and their deputies.

The president, in a statement extended to Sudan Tribune, said he chose this moment to restructure his government and lay the groundwork for a lean and stronger cabinet.

"This downsizing will create synergies, allow budgets to flow to high priority development projects and also allow for better management by dedicated civil servants," Kiir's statement reads in part.


1. Martin Elia Lomuro - Cabinet affairs

2. Kuol Manyang Juuk - Defense and Veteran Affairs

3. Telar Ring Deng - Justice

4. To be appointed - Office of President

5. Obuto Mamur Mete - Office of the President for National Security Service

6. Aleu Ayeny Aleu- Interior and Wildlife Conservation

7. Aggrey Tisa Sabuni- Finance, Commerce and Economic Planning

8. Kuong Dazier Gatluak - Labor, Public Service and Human Resource Development

9. Michael Makuei Lueth- Information, Broadcasting and Telecommunication and Postal Services

10. Riek Gai Kok- Health

11. Beda Machar Deng - Agriculture, Forestry, Tourism and Animal Resources, Cooperatives and Rural Development

12. John Gai Yoh - Education, Science and Technology

13. Jemma Nunu Kumba - Land, Housing and Physical Planning

14. Abdalla Deng Nhial - Electricity, Dams, Irrigation and Water Resources

15. Simon Majok - Transport, Roads and Bridges

16. Stephen Dhieu Dau - Petroleum, Mining and Environment

17. Ngor Kulang - Culture, Youth and Sport

18. Awut Deng Acuil- Gender and Social Development

The full list of the newly appointed deputy ministers will follow shortly.

Copyright © 2013 Sudan Tribune. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.