6 September 2013

Uganda: Rebel MPs Reject Ruling, Vow to Stay in Parliament

Four rebel MPs have rejected a ruling by the Constitutional Court barring them from accessing Parliament premises and engaging in parliamentary proceedings pending hearing of a case against them in court.

They are: Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga County), Mohammed Nsereko (Kampala central), Barnabas Tinkasimire (Buyaga west) and Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East).

Earlier today, the Constitutional Court issued orders barring the MPs from accessing Parliamentary premises and engaging in proceedings of parliament until a case in court against them is heard.

Addressing a news conference briefly after the court's ruling, the MPs led by Theodore Ssekikubo vowed to continue their work at Parliament saying the decision to bar them from carrying out their Parliamentary work was unlawful and pre-judgment.

"We are going to continue coming to Parliament no matter the ruling, we cannot respect Justice Kavuma's ruling it was unlawful and politically motivated," Said Niwagaba.

Copyright © 2013 New Vision. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.