23 September 2013

Liberia: NPP Members Condemn Cllr. Gould's Removal

The National Patriotic Party (NPP) Majority members have strongly condemned the removal of its National Chairman, Cllr. Theophilus C. Gould and described the action as heinous, clumsy, unprofessional, unrealistic, unethical, and undemocratic, and not in line with the party's constitution. National Secretary General of the National Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Andrew Peter disclosed that the National Executive Committee (NEC)of the NPP is comprised of 41 members but the so-called resolution which removed Cllr.Theophilus C.Gould from National Chairmanship, was adopted by 17 persons of the National Executive Committee and out of the 17, 8 persons abstained from signing the resolution.

According to Mr.Peter, National Executive Committee members who are in full support of Cllr. Gould's leadership," and did not sign the resolution were Mr. Lawrence Gboryah,Acting County Chairman, Grand Bassa County; Mr. Cyrus Kamara, National Chairman NPYC or NPP, Mr. A. Sieh Thomas, National Chairman NAPAL or NPP, Mr. David Kolleh, Vice Chairman for planning, Research and Policies NPP,Mr.C.Neilley Datouah, Vice Chairman for Finance and Investment NPP,Senator Jewel Howard Taylor, Standard Bearer NPP,Senator Sando D.Johnson, National Vice Chairman for Operations and Mobilization NPP, Mr. Victor M.Wilson Chairman, Election Committee NPP, Mr. Roland C. Duo Chairman, Grievance and Ethics Committee NPP, Mr.Kollie Kamara ASPPR, Mr. Thomas G. Goba Chair, Auditing Committee, Mr. Morris Paye ASFI or Controller, Mr. Adam Gomettee ASSSS, Mr. Edward Gormas Chairman, Grand Bassa County, Mr. Ben B. Nyanti Jr. Chair, Maryland County, Mr. Melvin Cole Chair, Bong County, Mr. John M.Dakarllie Chair, Nimba County,Mr.Manfred Doe Chair, Rivercess County, Mr. Nelson Bogar Chair, Bomi County, Mr. Balah Kollie-Blee Chair, Lofa County, Mdam Elizabeth Bamam Chair,WMP.

Mr.Peter further stated that article 6 section 6.1 of the NPP constitution states that sixty percent of the delegates that unanimously elected a constituency, county or National Officer, as a case may be, give written notice to the constituency, County or National Executive Committee, and as the case may be, their demand for the removal of such officer, the constituency, County or National Executive Committee, shall within one week of receipt of the notice circulate such notice to all delegates and shall thereafter within one month summon an emergency conference to deliberate and decide the matter. Upon receipt of the notice, the constituency, County or National Executive Committee, as the case may be, shall suspend the officer from acting in his or her office pending the holding of the conference.

The notice summoning the conference shall specify the agenda and approve for the removal of the officer and shall be by simple majority of the votes cast at the conference. But refusal by the conference to approve the removal of the officer shall automatically terminate his or her suspension, if any, from office and the same method shall apply in the case for the removal of the party Legislators, leaders of the party's Legislative Groups, the vice standard Bearer and Standard Bearer.

According to documents in the possession of this paper, a written communication was addressed to Cllr.Theophilus C.Gould on September 17, 2013 by Mr. Gus Knowlden, Chairman on Standing Committee on Press, Information and Propaganda.

The letter read thus: Mr.Chairman, herewith attached is the unanimous resolution adopted by the National Executive Committee, NPP, as its contents thereto duly expressed for your official acknowledgement and cooperation and in the spirit of patriotism, we remain "ABOVE ALL ELSE- THE PEOPLE. And the resolution was adopted on September 18, 2013.

Mr.Peter said the National Patriotic Party (NPP) will not recognize Mr. John Gray as National Chairman of the party because the resolution adopted recently was not in line with the party's constitution but that Cllr. Theophilus C. Gould is still the National Chairman.

Copyright © 2013 The Inquirer. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.