27 October 2013

Kenya: Mung'ara and Kwamboka Win Stanchart Marathon

Nairobi — Kenneth Mung'ara and Winfridah Kwamboka are overall winners of this year's Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon.

Mung'ara was crowned winner in the men's race after clocking 2 hours, 12 minutes and 28 seconds in the full marathon of 42 kilometers followed by Hosea Korir.

Winfridah Kwamboka won the women's race of 21 kilometers followed by Florence Chepserek and Agnes Cheserek who finished in third position.

Ugandan Solomon Mutai won the 21 kilometers men's race after clocking 62.54.07 followed by Joel Rotich who finished with 63.07. Kiprotich Mathew was third with 63.35.04.

In the women's category, Goreti Jepkoech emerged top followed by Agness Chebet and Pascalia Chepkorir in that order.

In the 10 Kilometer race, the winner is Amos Kiplimo who was followed by Leonard Kipkoech.

The overall winner in the 42 kilometers takes Sh1.5mn while the winner in the 21 kilometers is given Sh 150,000.

Copyright © 2013 Capital FM. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.