29 October 2013

Rwanda: Bukera Pips Giancarlo to Rally De Ngozi Victory

Valery Bukera set a new record to become the first Burundian to win Rally de Ngozi over the weekend, the first rally held on Burundian soil in 20 years.

Bukera, driving a Subaru Impreza clocked one hour and four minutes to complete the total distance of 242.70km over the two-day event. He finished four minutes and 17 seconds ahead of Rwanda's defending champion Davite Giancarlo.

Felekani Mayaka finished third after clocking one hour, ten minutes and thirteen seconds; Elefter Mitraros finished fourth in one hour, 12 minutes and 27 seconds.

Burundian pair of Mohammed Abbas Roshanali and Jean Giesen clocked 01:14:30 and 01:17:42 to finish fifth and sixth, while Rwandan pair of Jean-Claude Gakwaya and Said Twizeyimana clocked 01:25:05 and 01:39:36 to finish in seventh and eighth positions respectively.

Burundian trio of Kimbol Barekayo, Thierry Mutore and Jean Jacques Ntwali and Rwandan Janvier Mutuga abandoned the two-day rally due to mechanical problems.

Giancarlo's navigator Sylvia Vindevogel said, "We finished 2nd overall in Ngozi rally. We decided at first service to remove crepine, took 1min 25 secs penalties, hoping our yellow star (referring to their car, Subaru Impreza) would reach the sky but it was impossible."

She added, "Congratulations to Bukera, the first Burundi winners of a Burundi rally."

The Rwanda Automobile Club chairman Christian Gakwaya, who was also the rally's director, said that the Burundian rally was a success and they are hoping to invite Burundian drivers for the 'Rally des Mille Collines' the final round of the 2013 national championship due on December 7-8.

Gakwaya added, "Congratulations to the winners of Ngozi Rally, thumbs up to the six drivers from Rwanda, you did perform well and we are very proud of you, the fans that came from Rwanda you raised our flag again, thanks."

"My gratitude to the Club Automobile du Burundi for appointing me and my team as the Clerk of course for the first rally in Burundi after 20 years," he noted.

Ngozi rally results

1. Vallery Bukera (Bdi) 01:04:00

2. Davite Giancarlo (Rwa) 01:08:17

3. Felekani Mayaka (Rwa) 01:10:13

Copyright © 2013 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.