The Herald (Harare)

Zimbabwe: Three Mining State Firms' Boards Dissolved

MINES and Mining Development Minister Walter Chidhakwa has dissolved the boards of three mining State enterprises after some members of the previous boards ran for or took up political office. In a statement on Wednesday, the ministry announced the dissolution of the Minerals Marketing Corporation of Zimbabwe, the Zimbabwe Mining Development Corporation and Marange Resources.

In an interview, Minister Chidhakwa said there were not enough people to sit on the boards hence the need to dissolve them in order to appoint new board members.

"For example, only two people were left on the Marange board. We felt there was also need to dissolve the other two - MMCZ and ZMDC - because we want to look at what they are doing.

"Once we are clear on what we want, we will then reconstruct new boards."

For instance, Mr Supa Mandiwanzira, who was a board member at the ZMDC, left the board to participate in the parliamentary elections.

He won the Nyanga South seat and was subsequently appointed Information, Media and Broadcasting Services Deputy Minister.

Mr Godwills Masimirembwa stepped down as chairperson of the ZMDC board to contest in parliamentary elections on a Zanu- PF ticket for the Mabvuku-Tafara seat, which he lost.

Former MMCZ board chairman Mr Chris Mutsvangwa, now the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, resigned to venture into politics while Colonel Tshinga Dube, who was the chairman of Marange Resources, which is wholly owned by ZMDC, also resigned to contest in the elections.

Another former MMCZ board member, Mr Tongai Muzenda, is now the Deputy Minister of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare while former ZMDC board member Mr Freddy Moyo is now the Deputy Minister of Mines and Mining Development

Other MMCZ board members included Mr Johnson Masawi, Mr Tendai Munyoro, Mrs Nonhlanhla Ndlovu, Mr Felix Moyo, Mr Nicholas Dube and Mr Morris Mpofu.

ZMDC board members included Mr Togarmah Dhlakama, Mr Ashton Ndlovu, lawyer Mr Psychology Maziwisa, geologist Mrs Ntombizodwa Masuku, Mr Mutabu Sibanda and administrator Mrs Esther Marava- nyika. Minister Chidhakwa added that the duties and functions of these boards will be assumed by the ministry's permanent secretary, Professor Francis Gudyanga, until the appointment of new boards.

Ads by Google

Copyright © 2013 The Herald. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media ( To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.