15 January 2014

Nigeria: Daily Trust African of the Year Award Dinner Holds Tonight

AllAfrica exclusive interview with African Development Bank Head Donald Kaberuka on how Africa can have jobs, power, and prosperity. Read the ... ( Resource: AllAfrica: Dr. Donald Kaberuka on How Africa Can Prosper )

Donald Kaberuka, President of the African Development Bank (AfDB) and Daily Trust's African of the Year 2013, will be honoured at a dinner tonight, in Abuja. He was chosen in recognition of an innovative idea which led to the establishment of 'Africa 50 Fund'.

The Rwandan economist who is currently serving his second and final five-year term as President of the AfDB arrived Abuja yesterday. The award plaque and the prize sum of $50,000 (donated by the United Bank for Africa Plc) will be presented to him at the awards dinner at the Transcorp Hilton in Abuja, making him the sixth winner.

Following the award presentation on the following day, tomorrow January 16th is the 11th Daily Trust Dialogue.

Justice Alfa Modibbo Belgore, former Chief Justice of Nigeria is expected to chair the event while the special guest of honour is Senator Ike Ekweremadu, Deputy President of the Senate. Speakers include Dr. Jibrin Ibrahim, Ms. Ayo Obe and Mr. Festus Okoye.

The format of the dialogue will see speakers presenting papers, open to discussion by invited guests and the general public. It also holds at the Transcorp Hilton, Abuja, by 10:00am. This year's theme is 'Incumbency and Impunity in Politics: Safeguarding Our Democracy Beyond 2015'.

The African of the Year award was initiated in 2008 to recognize and reward exemplary Africans for their extraordinary contributions to human development in any part of the continent. The general public can nominate any individual they feel has made an impact on the lives of Africans. Past winners of Daily Trust's African of the Year award include Dr. Denis Mukwege of the Democratic Republic of Congo (2008), late pan-Africanist, Dr. Tajudeen Abdul-Raheem of Nigeria (2009), Mr. Danny Jordaan of South Africa (2010), Chief Justice of Niger, Mrs. Fatimata Bazeye (2011) and former South African President, Mr. Thabo Mbeki (2012).

Copyright © 2014 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.