18 January 2014

Tanzania: Minerals Sector's Contribution to Reach 10 Percent

MINERALS sector will be contributing 10 per cent of the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) when the country becomes a middle income state by 2025.

Addressing a geological survey workshop in Dar es Salaam, Minister for Energy and Minerals, Prof Sospeter Muhongo, said the government was determined to make the most of the sector by doubling the contribution from the current 5 per cent.

"We have prepared the minerals policy which will facilitate attaining the goals in order to address poverty," said Prof Muhongo while opening the workshop which was organised by Geological Survey of Tanzania (GST) to disseminate the geological survey results.

Permanent Secretary (PS) to the Ministry of Energy and Minerals, Mr Eliakim Maswi, said the surveys were carried out under the Sustainable Management of Mineral Resources Project, saying the purpose of the survey was to identify potential zones of mineralisation.

"The main objective of the project is to improve the socioeconomic impacts of mining for Tanzania and Tanzanians and therefore enhance local and foreign investments," said PS.

GST Chief Executive Officer, Prof Abdulkarim Mruma, said the high resolution airborne geophysical surveys were carried out in 31 districts in 2012, saying the surveys were fundamental to modern geo-scientific data acquisition and mapping.

"Geophysical data acquired through high resolution airborne surveys allow fast and accurate delineation of mineralised targets and when augmented with geological and geochemical datasets are highly effective in attracting new exploration ventures," he said.

Prof Mruma noted further that the availability of modern geo-scientific data stimulates investment in the mineral and other sectors and that the survey would improve the effectiveness on exploration programmes.

The survey was carried by a local Geotech Limited in collaboration with the Canada based Sander Geophysical Limited in 31 districts including Dodoma, Bahi, Chamwino, Kongwa, Mpwapwa, Kondoa, Manyoni, Ikungi, Singida, Mkalama, Iramba, Igunga, Kiteto and Hanang.

Others are Babati, Simanjiro, Mbulu, Arumeru, Monduli, Moshi, Handeni, Kilindi, Korogwe, Chemba, Mvomero, Kilosa, Gairo, Bagamoyo, Chunya, Mbozi and Mbarali.

Copyright © 2014 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.