17 February 2014

Liberia: Ellen Throws 'Bomb Shells'

Photo: Liberia Government
Members of the Liberian cabinet (file photo).

President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has thrown what has been described as a 'bomb shell', with the dismissal and appointment of several individuals in government.

As part of her reshuffle in government, several top government officials, including Mr. Cole Bangalu, former Deputy Minister for Administration at the Ministry of Labor, Mr. Othello Warrick, former Director of the Executive Protection Services (EPS), former Monrovia City Corporation Council Member, Mr. Jackson E. Doe, Chief of Protocol Elijah Sieh, former Deputy Minister for Road and Rail Mr. Charles Nelson, and the former Superintendent of Nimba County, Madam Christiana Dagadu, were all relieved of their respective positions.

Mr. Bangalu is the founding Chairman of the opposition Congress for Democratic Change (CDC). He resigned from the CDC in 2005 due to 'policy differences'.

Mr. Othello Warrick, the former EPS boss, has served the Unity Party (UP) led administration for the past eight years. He served the first term of the government as Deputy Minister for Operations at the Ministry of National Defense before being transferred to head the EPS.

Another person relieved of his position was Mr. Jackson E. Doe. He has been considered as one ofthe Liberian leader's favorite 'sons,' who has served several key positions in government, including the position of Minister of Transport. Former Chief of Protocol, Mr. Elijah Sieh, before assuming the position, represented River Gee County District #1 in the 52nd Legislature on the ticket of the UP.

On the other hand, the chief executive appointed several persons to positions in government. Key among those appointed are: Mr. Thomas YayaNimely, leader of the defunct Movement for Democracy in Liberia (MODEL) and Mr. Rufus Neufville, former Montserrado County District #2 Representative.

Prior to the appointment of Mr. Neuvfville to his newest position, he servedas Deputy Minister for Public Affairs at the Ministry of Commerce and Industry. But he was relieved of that position following calls from some quarters of the Liberian society, including civil society groups, politicians and the media for his removal on grounds that the position was not statutory.

According to an Executive Mansion release, those appointed are pending confirmation hearing where applicable.

The following are the affected areas of the President's reshuffle action.

Ministry of Transport: Madam Kou Joseph, Deputy Minister for Road and Rail, replacing Mr. Charles Nelson, who is being reassigned).

Ministry of Labor: Mr. Augustine Williams, Deputy Minister for Administration, replacing Mr. Cole Bangalu.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Atty. Jeddi M. Armah, Assistant Minister for Legal Affairs, replacing Atty. David Kolleh, Mr. Dehpue Y. Zuo, Assistant Minister for International Cooperation, replacing Mr. Chris W. Moore, who, is being called into Diplomatic Service, Mr. Rufus Neufville, Chief of Protocol, Republic of Liberia.

Ministry of Commerce & Industry: Mr. Alphaiour Ahmed Bah, III, Deputy Minister for Industry & Inspector, General, Madam Makeda Gurley, Deputy Inspector General for Enforcement. Ministry of Internal Affairs: Mr. Fong Zuagele, Superintendent, Nimba County

Executive Protection Services: Mr. Frank O. Nyekan, Director, replacing Mr. Othello Warrick, who is being reassigned, Mr. Darlington George, Assistant Director.

Bomi Community College Board of Directors: Rev. Dr. Kortu K. Browne - Chairman, Chairman, Bomi Legislative Caucus, County Superintendent, Bomi County, County Superintendent, Gbarpolu County, City Mayor, Tubmanburg City Corporation, Women Representative - Hon. Hajai Washington, Business Representative, Dr. John S. David, Dr. Daniel B. Edwards, Mr.Robert B. Kennedy, Cllr. William Sando, Dr. Michael Abou Jones, President, Bomi Community College, Secretary to the Board, The Minister of Education - Ex-Officio

Monrovia City Corporation Council: Madam Clara Doe Movogo, Chair; Cllr. Henry Reed Cooper, Member, Ms. MathaleneNyankun, Member, replacing Mr. Blama Gaye, Madam Massa Roberts, Member, replacing Madam Grace Kpaan, Madam Elizabeth Jones, Member, replacing Madam Elizabeth Mulbah, Mr. Diallo Bella, Member, replacing Mr. William Findley, Ms. MelvanaVetkeh, Member, replacing Mr. Mathias Korpu, Mr. Garrison Bailey, Member, replacing Mr. Abel Voker.

Liberia Telecommunications Corporation Board of Directors: Mr. Fredrick Norkeh, Chairman, Minister of Post & Telecommunications, replacing Mr. Francis Horton, Mr. Thomas YayaNimley, Member, replacing Mr. Jackson E. Doe, Mr. Pierre King, Member replacing Mr. Floyd Thomas, Madam Ciatta Victor, Member, Mr. James P. Cooper, Member.

Copyright © 2014 Heritage. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.