5 March 2014

Nigeria: Sports Minister Sacked As Jonathan Swears in 11 New Ones

President Goodluck Jonathan has sworn in 11 new ministers and assigned them their portfolios.

Jonathan, while inaugurating the new ministers at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa in Abuja today, replaced Sports Minister Bolaji Abdullahi with Dan Agogo.

The new ministers and their portfolios are as follows:

Boni Haruna -- Youths minister

Aliyu Gusau -- Defence

Dan Agogo -- Sports

Musiliu Obanikoro -- Defence (state)

Mohammed Wakil -- Power (state)

Etim Okon -- Land and Housing

Lawrencia Mallam -- (Environment)

Asabe Ahmed -- Agric (state)

Aminu Wali -- Foreign Affairs)

Alhassan Haliru -- Health (state)

Abdujeleel Adesiyan -- Police Affairs.

The president announced that a new set of ministers would be unveiled next week.

Details later.

New Government Paves Way for Productive U.S. Ties

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari's visit to the United States last week offered an opportunity for both countries to … see more »

Copyright © 2014 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.