27 March 2014

Liberia: President Sirleaf Makes Several Appointments

Photo: Liberia Government
President Sirleaf delivers her 9th Annual Message(file photo)

President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has made several appointments in government, pending confirmation by the Senate. The President's appointments affect the Liberia Revenue Authority (LRA), Ministry of Public Works and the Judiciary.

According to the Executive Mansion, those appointed to the LRA are: Mrs. Elfreda Stewart Tamba, Commissioner General; and Mrs. Dekontee King Sackie, Deputy Commissioner General for Operations. The President has also constituted the Board of Directors of the Liberia Revenue Authority.

Those appointed to the board include, Cllr. Robert C. Tubman, Chairman; Mr. Charles R. Bright, Member; Mrs. Aletha Brown Cooper, Member; Minister of Finance, Statutory Member and Minister of Justice, Statutory Member. Others are: Minister of Commerce & Industry, Statutory Member and the Commissioner General of the LRA, Statutory Member, respectively.

The Liberian leader has also appointed several junior ministers at the Ministry of Public Works, including Mr. Claude Langley, Deputy Minister for Technical Services; Mr. Jackson J. Paye, Deputy Minister for Rural Development and Community Services; Ms. Lauretta E. Reffell, Assistant Minister for Administration; and Mr. N. Pawon Boayue, Assistant Minister for Operations, respectively.

At the Judiciary, President Sirleaf appointed Attorney Karsor K. Zubah, Traffic Judge, Bensonville Traffic Court, Montserrado County; Colonel Sinyeneltu Gea-Weah, Traffic Judge, River Gee Traffic Court Montserrado County; Attorney Benjamin B. W. Jlah, Debt Judge, River Gee Debt Court, River Gee County; Attorney Quincy A. Q. Garnett, Associate Magistrate, Clay Ashland Magisterial Court, Montserrado County and Attorney John Lafayette Griggs, Associate Magistrate, Arthington Magisterial Court, Montserrado County.

Also appointed by the President are: Attorney Lionel B. Clarke, Associate Magistrate, Arthington Magisterial Court, Montserrado County; Attorney Daniel P. Charles, Associate Magistrate, Gardnersville Magisterial Court, Montserrado County; Attorney Eric N. Cooper, Associate Magistrate, Paynesville Magisterial Court, Montserrado County, and Mr. Enoch S. Garlawolu, Notary Public, Commercial Court, Montserrado County, respectively.

Copyright © 2014 The New Dawn. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.