30 March 2014

Zimbabwe: Dube Re-Elected Zifa President

Incumbent Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) President Cuthbert Dube was re-elected for a second four year term after an election held Saturday 29 March. The election went into a second round of voting pitting Dube and former ZIFA president, Trevor Carelse Juul after two other contestants, Lesley Gwindi and Nigel Munyati had been eliminated.

Dube polled 44 votes to Carelse Juul's 14 in the runoff poll that followed the first round where none of the four contestants polled the required two thirds majority to be confirmed outright winner. The new ZIFA constitution requires that the winner get 38 votes from the 58-member council.

The other elected members of the Executive Committee are Omega Sibanda who is the new ZIFA vice president, Tawengwa Hara, Bernard Gwarada, John Phiri and Fungai Chihuri.

Fifa Southern Region Development Officer, Ashford Mamelodi observed the proceedings.

Copyright © 2014 Confederation of African Football. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.