29 April 2014

South Africa: 2014 SAMA Winners Announced

Photo: Big Brother

The 20th Annual SAMA Awards which recognise top artists in the South African music industry, took place Monday, 28 April, at the Sun City Superbowl.

SAMA 2014 winners

Best Pop

Mafikizolo - Reunited

Beste Pop Album

Karlien van Jaarsveld - Uitklophou

Best Adult Contemporary

Shaun Jacobs - Love Can

Best Rock Albums

Van Coke Kartel - Bloed. Sweet & Trane

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album

Elvis Blue - Afrikaans

Best African Adult Album

Zonke - Give and Take Live

Best Alternative Album

Nakhane Toure - Brave Confusion

Best RnB Soul Reggae

The Soil - Reflections Live in Joburg

Best Rap Album

iFani - I believes In Me (1st Quadrant)

Best Kwaito Album

Big Nuz - Made In Africa

Best Dance Album

Mi Casa - Su Casa

Best Traditional Faith Album

Rebecca - Bayos'Khomba

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

Nqubeko Mbatha - Sentiments Of A Worshiper

Best Traditional Album

Dr. Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters - Shimatsatsa No 32

Best Maskandi Album

Thokozani Langa - Inyakanyaka

Best Jazz Album

Shane Cooper - Oscillations

Best Classical and or Instrumental Album

Guy Battery - Live in KwaZulu

Best Live DVD

Zonke - Give and Take Live

Best Selling DVD

Joyous Celebration - Grateful Vol.17

Best Selling Mobile Music Download of the Year

Mafikizolo - Khona

Best Ringback Tone of the Year

Mafikizolo - Khona

Best Selling Full Track Download of the Year

Mafikizolo - Khona

Highest Airplay of the Year

DJ Kent ft. The Arrows - Spin My World Around

Best Collaboration

Mafikizolo Ft May D - Happiness

Best Selling Album

Zahara - Phendula

Music Video Of The Year

Kyle Lewis - The Parlotones, Khuli Chana & Jon Savage on Sleepwalker

Best Producer of the Year

Darryl Torr - Yes/No/Grey by Gangs of Ballet

Best Engineer of the Year

Peter Auret - Pimp My Piano by Charl du Plessis

Remix of the Year

Oskido - Tsa Ma Ndebele

Album of the Year

Mafikizolo - Reunited

Duo or Group of the Year

Mafikizolo - Reunited

Newcomer of the Year

Naima Kay - Umsebenzi

Female Artist of the Year

Zahara - Phendula

Male Artist of the Year

Kabomo - Memory Remains

Kia Record of the Year

Mafikizolo Ft. Uhuru - Khona

Amstel Lifetime Achievement Award

Ladysmith Black Mambazo and Phuzekemisi

International Achievement Award

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Copyright © 2014 Biz-Community. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.