27 June 2014

Eritrea: Commission Established to Investigate HR Violations in Eritrea

The United Nations Human Rights Council at its 26th Session on Friday unanimously adopted a resolution on the situation of human rights in Eritrea that would establish a Commission of Inquiry for a period of 1 year to investigate the alleged violations of human rights in Eritrea.

It also extended the mandate of the Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Eritrea for a period of 1 year.

The Commission of Inquiry will have three members, one of whom will be the Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Eritrea.

The Commission was formed following the continued grave violations of human rights by Eritrean authorities against their own population and fellow citizens ranging from arbitrary detention and arrest, arbitrary and extrajudicial killings, summary killings, use of torture, incommunicado detention and the widespread use of indefinite conscription into national service, journalists as well as the absence of national elections since 1993.

It also follows the alarming number of civilians fleeing Eritrea as result of those violations.

The Resolution strongly condemns the continued widespread and systematic violation of human rights and fundamental freedoms committed by the Eritrean authorities.

The resolution further calls on the Eritrean Government to provide unhindered access to a further mission by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, human rights treaty bodies and all mechanisms of the Human Rights Council.

It also calls on the Eritrean Government to provide relevant information on the whereabouts of the G-15 journalists, those detained in the aftermath of takeover on 21 January 2013 of the building of the Ministry of Information and the 19 Djiboutian combatants.

The Eritrean Government was urged to cooperate with the Special Rapporteur and the Commission of Inquiry, including by providing unrestricted access to visit the country.

The Commission of Inquiry is expected to present an oral update and written report at the 27th and 28th Sessions of the Human Rights Council.

The resolution presented by Somalia and France was cosponsored by Estonia, Netherlands, Djibouti, Spain, Maldives, Switzerland, Norway, Luxemburg, United Kingdom, Hungary, Ireland, Slovenia, Germany and Austria.

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Copyright © 2014 Ethiopian Radio and Television Agency. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.