3 July 2014

South Africa: July By-Elections, in Numbers


By-elections were held on Wednesday in 20 wards across six provinces. The DA was the incumbent in most wards, defending all but one successfully. That ward was lost to the ANC, who also took a ward from COPE, winning two on the night. The DA in turn won two wards from the Minority Front (MF), so it also came out ahead overall.

In the Eastern Cape one ward was contested: ward 16 in Ntabankulu. The ANC won 98% of the vote in 2011 but lost a big piece of the vote to an independent candidate, Lumkile Mndela, who took 40% on Wednesday. Turnout fell from 55% (in the 2011 elections) to 35%.

Eight wards were contested in Gauteng, seven were DA incumbencies and one was won by the ANC in 2011. The DA successfully defended six wards but lost one to the ANC.

Ward 20 in Ekurhuleni (Bedfordview) was won by the DA with 85% of the vote in 2011 (ANC 14%). Michelle Clarke, the incumbent, went to the provincial legislature. The DA retained the seat on Wednesday with 97% of the vote (ANC 3%). Turnout fell from 64% to 27%.

In ward 24...

Copyright © 2014 Daily Maverick. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.