7 January 2016

Gabon: 2015 Glo-CAF Awards - Aubameyang Wins Footballer of the Year Award

Photo: Confédération Africaine de Football
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has been voted the CAF Footballer of the Year while Yaya Toure was named runners-up at the 2015 Glo-CAF Awards held Thursday night in Abuja, Nigeria.

The Gabonese forward, who is enjoying the best moments of his career in Europe, has been very potent in front of goal. He is now the top scorer in the Bundesliga with 18 goals.

He also scored once as Gabon exited the Orange AFCON 2015 at the group stage. Despite missing out on some of the categories where it managed to get nominations, there was still something to cheer for Nigeria as Golden Eaglets striker, Victor Osimhen, was voted Youth Player of the Year. He becomes the second Nigerian to win the award after Kelechi Iheanacho last year. On his part, Dream Team's Oghenekaro Etebo won the Most Promising Talent Award.

Nigeria lost out in the National Team of the Year category where the Elephants of Cote d' Ivorie was voted ahead of the Golden Eaglets. The Cameroon national women's team won the female category. Coach Emmanuel Amuneke was also beaten to the Coach of the Year Award where French coach Herve Renard emerged tops. There was another miss for Nigeria in the Women Player of the Year category where Ngozi Ebere was snubbed for Cameroonian Gaelle Enganamouit Meanwhile, Charles Kumi Gyami (Ghana) and Samuel Mbappe Leppe (Cameroon) were named African Legends.

The Club of the year Award was snapped by Congolese side, TP Mazembe, while the Fair play award was given to Allez Casa of Senegal Women Player of the Year - Gabrielle Onguéné, Cameroon - Gaelle Enganamouit, Cameroon (Winner) - Ngozi Ebere, Nigeria - N'rehy Tia Ines, Cote d'Ivoire - Portia Boakye, Ghana Youth Player of the Year - Adama Traore, Mali - Kelechi Nwakali, Nigeria - Samuel Diarra, Mali - Victor Osimhen, Nigeria (Winner) - Yaw Yeboah, Ghana Most Promising Talent - Azubuike Okechukwu, Nigeria - Etebo Oghenekaro, Nigeria (Winner) - Djigui Diarra, Mali - Mahmoud Abdelmonem 'kahraba', Egypt - Zinedine Ferhat, Algeria Coach of the Year - Baye Ba, Mali, U17 - Emmanuel Amunike, Nigeria U17 - Fawzi Benzarti, Etoile Sportive de Sahel - Hervé Renard, Cote d'ivore (Winner) - Patrice Carteron, TP Mazembe Referee of the Year - Alioum Neant, Cameroon - Bakary Papa GASSAMA, Gambia - Eric Arnaud OTOGO CASTANE, Gabon - Ghead Zaglol GRISHA, Egypt - Janny SIKAZWE, Zambia

More on This

2015 Glo-CAF - Aubameyang Upsets Yaya Toure to Emerge Africa's Best

Gabon and Borussia Dortmund star striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, last night ended the four-year dominance of Yaya… Read more »

Copyright © 2016 Premium Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.