17 June 2016

Tanzania: How Jakaya Kikwete Failed to Land Sh 10 Billion in Retirement

Photo: WEF
Jakaya Kikwete, President of Tanzania, during the Development Partnerships Plenary at the World Economic Forum on Africa 2011 held in Cape Town.

Dar es Salaam — Former President Jakaya Kikwete will not be a beneficiary of the multi-million dollar Mo-Ibrhaim prize for influential and transformative African Presidents in retirement.

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation announced on Thursday that there would be no winner for the Ibrahim Prize of Achievement in African Leadership for 2015, the fifth time the prize has gone begging since its inception in 2006.

Tanzania would now have two retired presidents who failed to clinch the prize. Former President Benjamin Mkapa who left office in 2005 after serving for 10 years did not qualify for the same prize and was beaten to it by former Mozambican President Joaquim Chisano. Kikwete succeeded him as the country's fourth Head of State.

Mr Kikwete who enjoyed a positive rating largely among the international community did not quality alongside other African counterparts who retired over the last three years. They all failed to meet the criteria for the award, the highest of such nature around the world.

Considered a "dream send-off" for elected presidents who made a positive impact on their nations, The Ibrahim Prize would have beeb the icing on the cake should Mr Kikwete have scooped the award.

Now in its eighth year, the prize is aimed at promoting democracy and good governance on the continent and is the biggest financial reward on record to an outgoing chief executive of a country.

Having left office during the last three calendar years, Mr Kikwete was automatically set for the grand prize worth over Sh10 billion ($5 million) for charity work of his choice and also a separate personal retirement bounty of an annual income of Sh400 million ($200,000) cheque.

Yesterday's announcement means that Mr Kikwete and other Africal leaders who retired recently, such as Armando Guebuza of Mozambique and Goodluck Jonathan of Nigeria, all failed to prove they had left a legacy worth rewarding.

Kikwete's predecessor Mkapa is now time barred according to prize rules but Kikwete may have another go next year, even though that would be more of a formality and not guarantee a win.

Set up by Sudanese-British tycoon Mo Ibrahim in 2006, the Ibrahim Prize is given based on the review of a special committee that includes former diplomats, Nobel laureates, business leaders and democracy activists.

Since it was founded, the prize has been awarded four times and there were no winners in the year 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

Only three former presidents--Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique, Festus Mogae of Botswana and Pedro Pires of Cape Verde have so far won the prize.*

The award is given to a former African head of state who left office in the last three years before the year of awarding, was democratically elected, served his or her constitutionally mandated term and demonstrated exceptional leadership.

*AllAfrica Editors' note: Former President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia was awarded the Mo Ibrahim Prize at the end of his second term in 2015.


More on This

No Winner for Mo Ibrahim Sh500 Million Prize for African Leadership

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation says there is no suitable winner, again, for its Africa annual leadership excellence awards. Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2016 The Citizen. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.