18 June 2016

South Africa/Lesotho: Bafana Bafana Advance to Cosafa Semi-Finals

Photo: Africa Top Sports
(file photo)

A Bafana Bafana squad comprising almost an entire u23 side that is going to the Rio Olympics beat Lesotho 4-2 on penalties in the first quarter-final of the 2016 COSAFA Cup at Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek, Namibia. This was after the match had ended 1-1 in normal time.

Lesotho played the counter attacking football and this paid off when Jan Thaba-Ntso opened the scoring in the 19th minute from a clever flick over South African goalkeeper Pieterse.

For most of the first half, the Lesotho goalkeeper was hardly challenged as Bafana Bafana failed to fashion clear cut chances.

Coach Shakes Mashaba made two substitutions at half-time when Menzi Masuku came on for Judas Moseamedi and Deolin Mekoa for Thembela Sikhakhane and the changes had almost an immediate impact.

In the 65th minute, Gift Motupa and Thabiso Kutumela combined but the final product didn't bother Lesotho defence.

"We always knew this was not going to be an easy match, it was really a difficult game. This Lesotho side is good on the ball but I believe we should have won the match by 4 to 5 goals but still the finishing problem upfront continues to haunt us," said Mashaba.

"We are happy to go through to the semi-finals and we have a couple of days before that to try and fine tune certain aspects of our game," added Mashaba.

South Africa starting XI:

Reyaad Pietere (GK), Tebogo Moerane; Thembele Sikhakhane; Rivaldo Coetzee (c), Tshepo Rikhotso, Abbubaker Mobara, Thembinkosi Loche; Lebogang Phiri; Aubrey Modiba, Judas Moseomedi; Gift Motupa


Jody February (GK), Nkosingiphile Gumede (GK); Terciuos Malepe; Siphesihle Stuurman; Phumlani Ntshangase; Menzi Masuku; Deolin Mekoa; Thabiso Kutumela

Lesotho starting XI:

Daniel Jousse (GK); Baia Makepe; Mafa Moremoholo; Kopano Tseka; Hlompo Kalake; Mabuti Potloane; Kefuoe Mahula; Jane Thaba-Ntso; Tsepo Seturumane; Jeremea Kamela; Tumeo Khutlang


Liteboho Mokhehle; Sepiriti Malefane; Bokang Sello; Phafa Tsosane; Sera Motebang; Motlomelo Mkhwanazi; Montoeli Sonopo; Thabo Seakhoa Ends.

South Africa

Cape Town International Wins Best African Airport Award

Cape Town International Airport has once again won the prestigious award for best airport in Africa. Read more »

Copyright © 2016 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.