30 June 2016

South Africa: Minister Derek Hanekom Appoints New Members of Tourism B-Bbee Charter Council

press release

Appointment of the new members of the Tourism Broad Based Black Economic Empowerment (B-BBEE) Charter Council

The Minister of Tourism, Derek Hanekom, has announced the names of the new members of the Tourism B-BBEE Charter Council at its first meeting on 30 June 2016.

On 20 November last year, the Minister of Trade and Industry, Rob Davies, gazetted the Amended Tourism B-BBEE Sector Code to advance transformation in the tourism sector.

Tourism was the first sector to gazette the amended B-BBEE Code showing the commitment of tourism stakeholders to the empowerment and transformation the sector. It also expresses the commitment to work collectively to ensure that the opportunities and benefits of the sector are extended to black South Africans.

The tourism sector is required to appoint a Charter Council consisting of industry representatives from the public and private sectors, labour and small businesses across the tourism spectrum as described in the gazetted Tourism B-BBEE Charter to monitor transformation in the tourism sector.

The Charter Council will fulfil the following roles:

Provide guidance on sector-specific matters effecting B-BBEE;

Compile reports on the status of B-BBEE within the sector, and

Share information with sector members, approved accreditation agencies, B-BBEE Commission, B-BBEE Presidential Advisory Council, the Line Minister and the Minister of Trade and Industry pertaining to B-BBEE in the sector.

The following Charter Council members have been appointed for a period of three (3) years, commencing on 30 June 2016:

Dr Vuyo Mahlati (Chairperson): National Planning Commissioner in the Presidency

Ms Shamilla Chettiar: Deputy Director General for Policy and Knowledge Services at the National Department of Tourism

Mr Blacky Komani: CEO of Tourvest Duty Free on the Ground

Ms Gail Westphal: General Manager of Gooderson Leisure

Mr Tshifhiwa Tshivhengwa: CEO of Federated Hospitality Association of South Africa (FEDHASA)

Mr Mohamed Baba: Managing Director at Ilios Travel

Mr Adriaan Liebetrau: CEO of Southern African Association for the Conference Industry (SAACI)

Mr Ravi Nadasen: Director Operations at Tsogo Sun

Ms Nyeleti Mushuana: CEO of Karibu Hotel & Conference Centre

Ms Mmatšatši Ramawela: CEO of Tourism Business Council of South Africa (TBCSA)

Mr Duma Gqubule: Founder of KIO Advisory Services

Ms Heather Prinsloo: Former Divisional Director: Transformation for the City Lodge Hotel Group. She is now Human Resource Executive at City Property Administration

Mr Nicholus Maziya: Deputy Secretary General of South African Transport and Allied Workers' Union (SATAWU)

Mrs Lindiwe Sangweni-Siddo: Divisional Director: Operations at the City Lodge Hotel Group

Minister Hanekom said he was confident that the diverse and capable team would fast-track transformation in the sector.

"All stakeholders, including businesses, the public and associations in the tourism sector should use this collective to raise issues affecting them, and to share best practice models to ensure the tourism sector is in the forefront of transformation in South Africa," said Minister Hanekom.

Issued by: Department of Tourism

South Africa

State Will Pay Zuma's Legal Fees Until Court Rules Otherwise

The state will carry on covering former president Jacob Zuma's legal fees until a court decides otherwise, the… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2016 Government of South Africa. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.