3 February 2017

African LDCs Discuss Trade Strategies for Transformation and Poverty Reduction

Addis Ababa — The regional Enhanced Integrated Framework (EIF) workshop organised with the Ministry of Trade of Ethiopia and in collaboration with the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) and the United Nations Conference for Trade and Development (UNCTAD) ended in Addis Ababa on Friday.

The workshop forms part of a wider capacity-building programme being run by the EIF on providing Least Developed Countries (LDCs) with the tools to deliver results in the implementation of programmes on trade and becoming more active players in global economy.

In his opening remarks, , Ethiopia's Minister for Trade Bekele Bulado highlighted the analytical work already undertaken by Ethiopia under the EIF through the Diagnostic Trade Integration Study (DTIS): "The DTIS Update of Ethiopia has identified various constraints which have hindered the smooth growth of the trade sector to generate the foreign currency required for sustainable development."

Speaking on behalf of the African Trade Policy Centre in ECA, Ms Heini Suominen said, "The share of intra-African trade is low compared to other regions, and we have failed to effectively act as a shared force in the global arena. The Continental Free Trade Area (CFTA) under negotiation can act as a vehicle for change in this respect."

Ms Joy Kategekwa, Head of the Regional Office for Africa, UNCTAD stated that the, "EIF is unmatched in its potential, supporting trade as a propeller for LDCs' national development. The EIF is keeping the trade agenda alive in LDCs with key implementation ongoing for national priorities important in supporting poverty reduction and sustainable development. UNCTAD is proud to be a core partner supporting analytical work like in Ethiopia and Strategies like in The Gambia."

The Addis Ababa event will help countries to get acquainted with the changes in Phase Two of the EIF and enhance their capacity to implement the Programme including showing results and ensuring long term sustainability of the programme. The event brings together 14 EIF countries, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Yemen and Zambia.

Copyright © 2017 United Nations Economic Commission for Africa. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.