The General Agreement signed in Addis Ababa on 8 January 1993

We, the undersigned Somali political leaders, meeting at the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 4 January 1993 at the Informal Preparatory Meeting on National Reconciliation in Somalia, would like to thank the Secretary-General of the United Nations, H.E. Boutros Boutros-Ghali, who has facilitated this meeting in collaboration with the Organization of African Unity, the League of Arab States, the Organization of the Islamic Conference and the Standing Committee of the Horn of Africa.

We also thank the Government and people of Ethiopia, and H.E. Meles Zenawi, President of the Transitional Government of Ethiopia, for hosting the Meeting and for his personal engagement in assisting our efforts to reach the following agreement.

We, the Somali participants, further express our deep appreciation for the concern of the international community for the humanitarian crisis in our country and recognize their wish for us to reach a peaceful solution to our country's severe problems.

After discussing our problems and considering all options, we have agreed on the following points:

- 1. The convening of a National Reconciliation Conference in Addis Ababa on 15 March 1993;
- 2. The declaration of an immediate and binding cease-fire in all parts of the country under the control of the concerned warring factions, subject to paragraph (a) below;
- 3. The immediate cessation of all hostile propaganda against each other and the creation of an atmosphere conducive to reconciliation and peace;
- 4. The United Nations Operation in Somalia (UNOSOM), in consultation with the relevant regional and subregional organizations, will be responsible for the logistical preparations of the National Reconciliation Conference;
- 5. The establishment of further mechanisms for the continuation of free dialogue amongst all political factions and leaders in Somalia in preparation for the National Reconciliation Conference;
- 6. To continue and enhance our full and unrestrained cooperation with all international organizations working

- inside and outside Somalia to distribute humanitarian relief to our people;
- 7. To commit ourselves, without reservation, to facilitating the free movement of Somali people throughout the entire country as a measure of confidence-building before the National Reconciliation Conference.

This agreement shall be valid upon completion and adoption by consensus on the following three points, and a separate communiqué will be issued before leaving Addis Ababa:

- a. The establishment of the modalities for implementing the cease-fire amongst all warring parties and the creation of a mechanism for disarmament:
- b. The agenda of the National Reconciliation Conference;
- c. The criteria for participation in the National Reconciliation Conference.

This agreement, signed in Addis Ababa on 8 January 1993, shall be considered binding on all the undersigned parties henceforth and all signatories shall be obliged to secure the support and implementation of this agreement amongst their movements and followers.

- Somali Africans Muki Organization (SAMO) Mr. Mohamed Ramadan Arbow. Chairman
- 2. Somali Democratic Alliance (SDA) Mr. Mohamed Farah Abdullahi, Chairman
- 3. Somali Democratic Movement (SDM) Abdi Muse Mayow, Chairman
- 4. Col. Mohamed Nur Aliyou, Chairman (SNA)
- 5. Somali National Democratic Union (SNDU) Mr. Ali Ismael Abdi, Chairman
- 6. Somali National Front (SNF) General Omar Hagi Mohamed Hersi, Chairman
- 7. Somali National Union (SNU)
 Dr. Mohamed Ragis Mohamed, Chairman
- 8. Somali Patriotic Movement (SPM)
 General Aden Abdillahi Noor, Chairman
- 9. Somali Patriotic Movement (SPM) (sna) Col. Ahmed Omar Jess, Chairman
- 10. Somali Salvation Democratic Front (SSDF) General Mohamed Abshir Musse, Chairman

- 11. Southern Somali National Movement (SSNM) (sna) Col. Abdi Warsame Isaaq, Chairman
- 12. United Somali Congress (USC) (sna) General Mohamed Farah Aidid, Chairman
- 13. United Somali Congress (USC) Mr. Mohamed Qanyare Afrah, Chairman
- 14. United Somali Front (USF) Mr. Abdurahman Dualeh Ali, Chairman
- 15. United Somali Party (USP) Mohamed Abdi Hashi, Chairman

8 January 1993 Addis Ababa, Ethiopia Africa Hall