Africa: Cup of Nations Sets Top Scorers Record

14 February 2012

A list of seven players finishing at the top of the scoring charts at the African Nations Cup finals is a first in the history of the tournament.

The best individual total of three goals at the recently completed championship also matches the record low at the tournament.

The Confederation of African Football have declared Emmanuel Mayuka as the top scorer at the tournament, adding an assist in one of Zambia's matches to his total of three, and handing him the trophy after Sunday's final over Cote d'Ivoire in Libreville.

But the record books will show Manucho (Angola), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Didier Drogba (Cote d'Ivoire), Cheick Tidiane Diabate (Mali), Houcine Kharja (Morocco) and the Zambian pair of Chris Katongo and Mayuka shared the most of number of goals at the finals in Equatorial Guinea and Gabon. Drogba might have finished top had he not skied a penalty 20 minutes from the end of the final.

List of leading scorers at previous African Nations Cup finals:

1957 (Sudan) - Ad El Diba (Egypt) 5

1959 (Egypt) - Mahmoud Al Gohari (Egypt) 3

1962 (Ethiopia) - Mohamed Al Badawi (Egypt) and Worku Mengistu (Ethiopia) 3

1963 (Ghana) - Ahmed Al Chazli (Egypt) 6

1965 (Tunisia) - Abbrey Osei Kofi (Ghana) and Eustace Mangli (Ivory Coast) 3

1968 (Ethiopia) - Laurent Pokou (Ivory Coast) 6

1970 (Sudan) - Laurent Pokou (Ivory Coast) 8

1972 (Cameroon) - Salif Keita (Mali), 5

1974 (Egypt) - Mulamba Ndaye (Zaire) 9

1976 (Ethiopia) - William Njo Lea (Guinea) 4

1978 (Ghana) - Phillip Omondi (Uganda) 4

1980 (Nigeria) - Segun Odegbami (Nigeria) 3

1982 (Libya) - George Al Hassan (Ghana) 4

1984 (Ivory Coast) - Taher Abou Zeid (Egypt) 4

1986 (Egypt) - Roger Milla (Cameroon), Abdoulaye Traore (Ivory Coast) 4

1988 (Morocco) - Lakhdar Belloumi (Algeria), Roger Milla (Cameroon), Gamal Abdelhamid (Egypt) and Abdoulaye Traore (Ivory Coast) 4

1990 (Algeria) - Djamel Menad (Algeria) 4

1992 (Senegal) - Rachidi Yekini (Nigeria) 4

1994 (Tunisia) - Rachidi Yekini (Nigeria) 5

1996 (South Africa) - Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia) 5

1998 (Burkina Faso) - Hossam Hassan (Egypt) and Benni McCarthy (South Africa) 7

2000 (Ghana and Nigeria) - Shaun Bartlett (South Africa) 5

2002 (Mali) - Patrick Mboma, Salomon Olembe (both Cameroon) and Julius Aghahowa (Nigeria) 3

2004 (Tunisia) - Patrick Mboma (Cameroon), Frederic Kanoute (Mali), Austin Okocha (Nigeria), Youssef Mokhtari (Morocco) and Francileudo dos Santos (Tunisia) 4

2006 (Egypt) - Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Ahmed Hassan (Egypt) and Francileudo dos Santos (Tunisia) 4

2008 (Ghana) - Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon) 5

2010 (Angola) - Mohamed Nagui (Egypt) 5

2012 (Equatorial Guinea and Gabon) - Manucho (Angola), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Cheick Tidiane Diabate (Mali), Houcine Kharja (Morocco) Chris Katongo and Emmanuel Mayuka (Zambia).


See What Everyone is Watching

More From: allAfrica

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.