15 October 2013

Malawi: President Banda Appoints New Cabinet

President Joyce Banda has appointed new ministers barely a week after sacking the entire 25-member cabinet over allegations of corruption.

The president's new cabinet is a blend of technocrats, economists and politicians, according to the Nyasa Times.

Notable in the new cabinet is reputable economist Maxwell Mkwezalamba. He is a former African Union commissioner for economic affairs and replaces outgoing finance minister Ken Lipenga.

Other replacements include prominent lawyer Fahad Assani who once served as director of public prosecution and former deputy clerk of parliament. He replaces outgoing justice minister Ralph Kasambara. Others who have been sidelined include Reen Kachere. He has been replaced Rachel Kachaje (Disability Affairs). Eunice Makangala has been dismissed from the Labour Ministry, the Nyasa Times said.

Below is a list of the new cabinet ministers:

Her Excellency Dr. Joyce Banda - President

Honourable KhumboKachali - Vice President

Honourable Sosten Gwengwe, M.P. – Minister of Industry and Trade

Honourable Dr. Maxwell Mkwezalamba,- Minister of Finance

Honourable Fahad Assani – Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs

Honourable Mrs. Catherine Gotani Hara, M.P.- Minister of Health

Honourable Mohammed Sidik Mia, M.P. – Minister of Transport and Public Works

Honourable Ephraim MgandaChiume, M.P. – Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Honourable Henry Duncan Phoya, SC, M.P. Minister of Lands and Housing

Honourable Mrs. Eunice Kazembe, M.P. Minister in the Office of the President and Cabinet Responsible for Good Governance

Honourable Mrs.Anita Kalinde, M.P.Minister of Water Development and Irrigation

Honourable Ken Edward Kandodo, M.P.– Minister of Defence

Honourable UladiMussa, M.P.- Minister of Home Affairs

Honourable Mrs. Halima Daud, M.P. – Minister of Environment and Climate Change Management

Honourable EnockChakufwa K. Chihana, M.P. – Minister of Youth and Sports

Honourable Ralph PachaloJooma, M.P. – Minister of Economic Planning and Development

Honourable Grace Maseko, M.P. -Minister of Labour

Honourable Mrs. Rachel Patience Mazombwe Zulu, M.P. – Minister of Local Government and Rural Development

Honourable Dr. James Munthali- Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

Honourable Mary Clara Makungwa – -Minister of Gender, Children and Social Welfare

Honourable Moses Kunkuyu Kalongashawa, M.P. – Minister of Tourism and Culture

Honourable John Bande, M.P. – Minister of Mining

Honourable Ibrahim Matola, M.P. - Minister of Energy

Honourable Brown Mpinganjira -Minister of Information and Civic Education

Honourable Dr.LuciousKanyumba, M.P., – Minister of Education, Science and Technology

Honourable Ms. Rachel Kachaje, – Minister of Disability and Elderly Affairs

HonourableJ ermothUlemuChilapondwa, M.P. – Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

Honourable Dr. Cornelius Mwalwanda, M.P. – Deputy Minister of Finance

Honourable Godfrey Jeff Kamanya, M.P. – Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development

Honourable Ephraim Abel Kayembe, M.P. – Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Honourable Chikumbutso John Hiwa, M.P. – Deputy Minister of Health

Honourable Agnes MandevuChatipwa M.P. – Deputy Minister of Education


Nearly Half of Cyclone Idai's Victims Are Children

The U.N. children’s fund reports nearly half of the 1.7 million people affected by Cyclone Idai in southern Africa… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2013 allAfrica.com. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.