19 October 2016

Africa: Vote for an African in Athlete of Year Awards!

Photo: Capture écran/ facebook
Almaz Ayana

The International Association of Athletics Federations has announced the names of athletes nominated for the World Athletes of the Year Award.

A number of Africans stars have made the cut.

Kenyan athletes are dominating the nominee list with Olympic champions David Rudisha, Vivian Cheruiyot, Eliud Kipchoge and Conseslus Kipruto among the 20 nominees.

Rudisha is the 2012 and 2016 Olympic champion - becoming only the second man ever to retain an Olympic 800m title.

Caster Semenya and Wayde van Niekerk of South Africa are among the nominees after they  both walked away with gold medals at the 2016 Rio Olympics. Van Niekerk shattered Michael Johnson's 17-year 400m record in a bistering time of 43.03s.

In a tweet, South Africa's Minister of Sport Fikile Mbalula congratulated the two athletes for being selected among the world's best: "I'm excited and proud that @caster800m and @WaydeDreamer are nominated for the @iaaforg World Athlete of the Year Award. Congratulations".

Almaz Ayana represents Ethiopia in the women's category. In Rio she recorded the fastest time ever for the 10,000m, surpassing the 23-year record of China's Wang Junxia by a whopping 14s.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF council and the IAAF family will vote by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms. The council and its affiliates account for 50% 50% and the public votes will count for 25% of the final tally.

Vote for an African Athlete on Twitter or Facebook.

The list of African Nominees:

Eliud Kipchoge

Olympic champion and London Marathon winner. World Marathon Majors champion. World record at 30km with 1:27:13.

Conseslus Kipruto

3000m steeplechase. Olympic champion and Diamond Race winner. World lead of 8:00.12. Winner of seven out of eight steeplechase finals. Produced the five fastest performances of the year.

David Rudisha

800m Olympic champion with a 1:42.15 world lead, the world's quickest time since 2012. The second fastest of all time at 600m with 1:13.10.

Wayde van Niekerk

400m Olympic champion with 43.03 world record. Unbeaten in 11 finals across three events. African champion at 200m and 4x100m. Other season's best of 9.98A and 20.02.

Caster Semenya
 Olympic athletics gold medalist and record breaker

Vivian Cheruiyot
 Olympic champion in the 5 000m and silver medalist in the 10 000m event

Almaz Ayana
 Olympic 10 000m champion and world record breaker

The nominees for 2016 World Athlete of the Year are:

Usain Bolt (JAM)
Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mo Farah (GBR)
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
David Rudisha (KEN)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)

Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Ruth Beitia (ESP)
Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)
Kendra Harrison (USA)
Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
Ruth Jebet (BRN)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Elaine Thompson (JAM)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

Vote for an African Athlete on Twitter or Facebook.


Now Hailemariam Desalegn Joins Prestigious Think Tank

We are pleased to announce that the former Prime Minister of Ethiopia Hailemariam Desalegn will be joining The… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2016 allAfrica.com. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.