17 January 2017

Nigeria: Etisalat Prize for Literature Shortlists 3 Authors for Awards

Photo: Etisalat Prize For Literature
Etisalat Prize For Literature.

The Etisalat Prize for Literature has shortlisted three authors for 2016 edition of the annual literary awards.

This is contained in a statement issued by the Chief Executive Officer, Etisalat Nigeria, Mr Matthew Willsher, and made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Monday in Abuja.

"The role of the judges is quite enormous and we want to thank them for the attention and dedication to the entire review process which birthed the top three finalists".

"At Etisalat, we have found the nexus between innovation and creativity.

"This is why we give people the opportunity to express their individuality and ingenuity so they can be the best in whatever they choose to do," he said.

According to him, the three shortlisted authors are: Jacqui L'Ange of South Africa for his book "The Seed Thief", Jowhor Ile (Nigeria) for his book "And After Many Days" and Julie Iromuanyi (Nigeria) who was shortlisted for the book "Mr&Mrs Doctor".

Willsher explained that the top three books were selected by a panel of three judges out of the tens of titles that were received following the call for entry.

He added that the three-man panel of judges was chaired by award-winning Nigerian author Helon Habila, who is an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at George Mason University, USA.

According to Willsher, the winner for the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature will be unveiled at the Grand Finale scheduled to take place in March in Lagos.

He explained that the winner of the Prize would be awarded 15,000 Pounds, an engraved "Montblanc Meisterstück pen", and an Etisalat sponsored book tour to three African countries.

The winner is also entitled to an Etisalat-sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.

In addition, all the shortlisted writers will also enjoy a sponsored multi-city book tour, while Etisalat will also purchase 1,000 copies of their books for distribution to schools, libraries and book clubs across Africa.

NAN reports that the Etisalat Prize for Literature, now in its fourth year, is a pan-African Prize that celebrates debut African writers of published book-length fiction.

The past winners of the Etisalat Prize for Literature include Fiston Mwanza Mujila from The Democratic Republic of Congo, South African novelist Songeziwe Mahlangu and Zimbabwean writer NoViolet Bulawayo.

More on This

Etisalat Shortlists 3 for Literature Prize

Etisalat Nigeria has announced the names of the three shortlisted authors for the 2016 edition of its pan-African… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 The Guardian. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.