11 September 2017

Southern Africa: SADC Celebrates Its 25th Founding Anniversary

Washington — The group of ambassadors of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) accredited in the United States of America celebrated on Saturday in Washington its 25th founding anniversary, marked on 17 August this year in Washington.

The socialization event was held at the official residence of the Republic of Angola in the USA, where ambassadors from SADC member countries, with their families and other invited diplomats, interacted, exchanged impressions and tasted typical food of their respective nations.

The Angolan ambassador to the United States, Agostinho Tavares, thanked the presence of his counterparts from Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, members of the subregional economic integration organization of the Southern African countries.

SADC also groups the Comoros Islands, whose US diplomatic mission is based in New York.

Foreign diplomats at the event congratulated the Angolan people for the general election held on August 23 and praised the maturity and civility shown during the process.

The ambassadors wished the best wishes for the President-elect, João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço, wishing him success.

In these 25 years of SADC, the action of the subregional organization is considered to be positive, especially in the areas of infrastructure development and the promotion of a regional identity, even though it faces significant difficulties in its course.

Outcome of the Southern Africa Development Coordination Conference, the sub-regionl organization presents itself with new objectives, guided by the ongoing process of globalization, characterized by a dynamic of constant political and economic changes.

Among SADC's strategic goals, its programme emphasizes infrastructure rehabilitation, trade liberalization, food security, human and social development and growth.

The Southern African Development Community was established on 17 August 1992 in Windhoek, Namibia. SADC was initially called the Southern Africa Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), which was founded in 1980 by only nine of the current 16 member states, namely Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

English, French and Portuguese are the official languages of the community.


Chamisa's SADC Appeal Bears Fruit As Angola President Responds

Angolan President Joao Manuel Goncalves has dispatching his foreign affairs minister to Zimbabwe to assess the situation… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 Angola Press Agency. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.