21 September 2017

South Africa: Dlamini-Zuma, Wolmarans Sworn in As MP

South Africa has two new Members of Parliament following a swearing-in ceremony earlier today.

National Assembly Deputy Speaker Lechesa Tsenoli on Thursday swore in former African Union Commission Chairperson, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma and Mathews Wolmarans as two new Members of Parliament (MPs).

"As it is common practice in Parliament, the new MPs will immediately undergo an induction programme and be provided with all necessary tools of trade to assist them with carrying out their parliamentary duties without delay," said Parliament.

Dlamini Zuma replaces Pule Mabe, while Wolmarans replaces Brian Molefe. Both new MPs are from the ruling African National Congress.

Part of the work of MPs, who are elected to represent the people as public representatives, is done inside Parliament and part of it is done directly with citizens during constituency periods.

More on This

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma Expected to Be Sworn in As MP

African National Congress presidential hopeful Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma is expected to be sworn in as an MP on Thursday. Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 SAnews.gov.za. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.