21 September 2017

Uganda: 23 Ministers Storm Press Conference, List 4 Reasons to Scrap Presidential Age Limit

Photo: Daily Monitor
Police deploy in Kampala ahead of presidential age limit demonstrations.

Kampala — The nearly two-dozen ministers gave four reasons to justify the Executive's support for the proposal to amend Article 102(b) of the Constitution to expunge the age limit on a president.

1- Citing the 1993-95 Constituent Assembly (CA) debate, Government Chief Whip, Ms Ruth Nankabirwa, says: "In the CA, we voted for a deletion. [James] Wapakhabulo [the CA chairman] put a question and the deletion carried the day. But because people were rushing, the drafters put this clause [on the age limit] there. You can go and consult the Hansard."

2- The ministers said they doubled as Members of Parliament (MPs); it is only fair that they support one of their own, Igara West MP Raphael Magyezi, who is expected to shortly seek leave of the House to draft a Private Member's Bill to lift the age limit.

3- Scrapping the age limit, the ministers said, is meant to ensure the youth, who account for close to 80 per cent of Uganda's population, are not blocked from contesting for many elective positions.

4- The amendment should be done now because constraints of time will may not in future permit execution of the drawn out legislative process.

Some of the ministers who attended:

1- Aggrey Bagiire, State Minister for Transport

2- Kasirivu Atwooki, State Minister for Planning (Office of the President)

3- Fredrick Ngobi Gume, State Minister for Cooperatives

4- Evelyn Anite, State Investment Minister

5- Simon D'Ujanga, State Energy Minister

6- Bright Rwamirama, State Minister for Veteran Affairs

7- Moses Kizige, State Minister for Karamoja

8- Dr Chris Baryomunsi, State Minister for Housing

9- David Bahati, State Minister for Planning

10- Obiga Kania, State Minister for Internal Affairs

11- Persis Namuganza, State Minister for Land

12- Grace Kwiyucwiny, State Minister for Northern Uganda

13- Rose Seninde, State Minister for Primary Education

14- Jennifer Namuyangu, State Minister for Local Government

15- David Karugaba, State Minister for Public Officers

16- Dennis Ssozi Galabuzi, State Minister for Luwero Triangle

17- Ernest Kiiza, State Minister for Bunyoro Affairs

18- Chris Baryomunsi, State Minister for Housing

19- Okello Engola, State Minister for Defence

20- Michael Werikhe, State Minister for Trade

21- Godfrey Kiwanda, State Minister for Tourism

22- Mary Karooro Okurut, Minister for General Duties, Office of the Prime Minister

23- Ruth Nankabirwa,(Government Chief Whip).

More on This

State Agents Must Stop the Double Standards

Uganda Human Rights Commission chairman Medi Kaggwa has accused the state of exercising double standards in the way its… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 The Monitor. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.