7 October 2017

South Africa/Burkina Faso: Baxter Makes Eight Changes for Burkina Faso Qualifier

Photo: safa
Bafana Bafana (file photo).

7 October 2017 - Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has made eight changes to the team that lost 2-1 to Cape Verde in Durban last month.

South Africa will go toe to toe with Burkina Faso in their fourth 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier at the FNB Stadium this afternoon (Saturday, 7 October 2017).

Kickoff is at 15h00.

The only three survivors from the previous match are Morgan Gould, Sifiso Hlanti and Themba Zwane.

Itumeleng Khune returns to goals after missing the last two qualifiers against Cape Verde due to a chest infection - he replaces Wayne Sandilands, who is not part of the match day squad along with defender Reeve Frosler.

Khune is the most capped player in the squad, as he will make his 84th appearance in the national team.

There are also two changes in defence - Thamsanqa Mkhize of Cape Town City makes his Bafana Bafana debut as he comes in place of the injured Ramahlwe Mphahlele at right back, while Hlanti retains his position at left back.

Clayton Daniels, comes in for Thulani Hlatshwayo who is out injured and will partner with Gould in the heart of defence.

Baxter has gone for an almost complete overhaul of the midfield.

With Dean Furman serving a suspension, Hlompho Kekana and Keagan Dolly starting from the bench, Bongani Zungu will play alongside Kamohelo Mokotjo in central midfield, and will be assisted by Sibusiso Vilakazi, Andile Jali as well as Zwane.

Percy Tau will play upfront in the absence of Bradley Grobler, who is on the bench and Tokelo Rantie who has not been called up for this match.

Khune is the only player that featured in the 1-1 draw away in Ouagadougou last year - while Thulani Serero, Dolly and Kekana, who all started in that match, are on the bench.

Bafana Bafana's next match is the penultimate World Cup qualifier against Senegal on Friday, 10 November 2017 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane (this is the replay game that has been ordered by FIFA).

The last match will be away to Senegal four days later (Tuesday, 14 November 2017) at Stade Leopold Sedar Senghor.

Bafana Bafana starting XI vs Burkina Faso:

Itumeleng Khune (GK) (c), Thamsanqa Mkhize, Sifiso Hlanti, Morgan Gould, Clayton Daniels, Bongani Zungu, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Themba Zwane, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Andile Jali, Percy Tau


Ronwen Williams (GK), Motjeka Madisha, Tebogo Langerman, Robyn Johannes, Hlompho Kekana, Keagan Dolly, Thulani Serero, Phakamani Mahlambi, Lebohang Manyama, Lebogang Mothiba, Dino Ndlovu, Bradley Grobler

Head coach: Stuart Baxter

Match Officials:






South Africa

Sublime Soul Diva Who Demanded Respect, Which Will be Forever Given

It is no coincidence that two of Aretha Franklin’s celebrated contemporaries who travelled to Detroit to see the… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.