16 October 2017

Nigeria: Akwa United Crowned Kings in Nigeria

Photo: Premium Times
Akwa United.

It was a historic moment in Lagos on Sunday when CAF President Ahmad and some CAF Executive Committee members graced the Nigeria FA Cup final on Sunday (15 October 2017) that saw Akwa United beat Niger Tornadoes 3-2 on penalties at the Agege Stadium.

After a scoreless encounter in regulation time, the match was decided via penalties which saw both sides lost three out of the initial five penalty kicks; and Gabriel Okechukwu turned Akwa United's hero by striking the winner.

The feat by Akwa United was an encore for the club after a similar success in 2015 in the country's oldest domestic competition which climaxed the 71st edition.

Apart from the mouthwatering 25 Million Naira ($70,323)prize money and the glittering trophy as winners, Akwa United also earned the ticket to represent Nigeria in next year's Total CAF Confederation Cup.

It was the 11th time the competition was decided via penalties after it began in 1945 as Governor's Cup. It was later known at various times as Challenge Cup and Federation Cup.

Meanwhile, the entourage of CAF President Ahmad at the Agege Stadium popularly known as 'Soccer Temple' include First Vice President Kwesi Nyantakyi, Second Vice President Constant Omari Selemani and CAF Emergency Committee member, Souleiman Waberi.


1990:Stationery Stores 0-0(5-4pens) Enugu Rangers

1991: El-Kanemi Warriors 3-2 Kano Pillars F.C.

1992: El-Kanemi 1-0 Stationery Stores

1993: BCC Lions 1-0 Plateau United

1994: BCC Lions 1-0 Julius Berger FC

1995: Shooting Stars 2-0 Katsina United

1996: Julius Berger 1-0 Katsina United

1997: BCC Lions 1-0 Katsina United

1998: Wikki Tourists 0-0 Plateau United

1999: Plateau United 1-0 Iwuanyanwu

2000: Tornadoes 1-0 Rangers

2001: Dolphins FC 2-0 El-Kanemi

2002: Julius Berger 3-0 Yobe Stars

2003: Lobi Stars 2-0 Sharks FC

2004: Dolphins FC 1-0 Enugu Rangers

2005: Enyimba 1-1(6-5pens) Lobi Stars

2006: Dolphins FC 2-2 (5-3pens)Bendel Insurance

2007: Dolphins FC 1-1 (3-2pens) Enugu Rangers

2008: Ocean Boys 2-2 (7-6pens)Gombe United

2009: Enyimba 1-0 Sharks FC

2010: Kaduna United 3-3(3-2pens) Enyimba

2011: Heartland 1-0 Enyimba

2012: Heartland 2-1 Lobi Stars

2013 Enyimba 2-2 (5-4pens) Warri Wolves

2014: Enyimba 2-1 Dolphins FC

2015: Akwa United 2-1 Lobi Stars

2016: FC IfeanyiUbah 0-0(5-4pens) Nassarawa United

2017: Akwa United 0-0(3-2pens) Niger Tornadoes

More on This

Aiteo Cup - Akwa United Beat Tornadoes to Win Competition

Akwa United have emerged as champions of the maiden AITEO Cup after claiming a 3-2 penalty win over Niger Tornadoes in… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 Confederation of African Football. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.