16 October 2017

Namibia: Candidates for the Swapo Secretariat

Photo: The Namibian
President Hage Geingob (file photo).

At yesterday's central committee meeting of the ruling party Swapo, the following nominations were made ahead of next month's elective congress:

Presidential candidates

1. Hage Geingob

2. Nahas Angula

3. Jerry Ekandjo

Vice-presidential candidates

1. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah

2. Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana

3. Helmut Angula

Secretary-general candidates

1. Sophia Shaningwa

2. Armas Amukwiyu

Deputy secretary-general candidates

1. Marco Hausiku

2. Petrina Haingura

More on This

Geingob Calls Self-Proclaimed Campaigners to Order

President Hage Geingob - in emphasising unity during the build-up to next month's Swapo elective congress - yesterday… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 New Era. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.