9 November 2017

Kenya: Promotion Format Opens Another KPL, FKF Tussle

A new disagreement looms between Football Kenya Federation and Kenyan Premier League over promotion and relegation of teams to the top flight league.

While FKF is sticking to the current 18-team league format, KPL is standing with 16.

FKF President Nick Mwendwa said two clubs from SPL will be relegated and two from the National Super League (NSL) promoted automatically while the third ranked side from the lower league will play team number 15 from the top league in a play-off to determine one more slot.


"Our stand remains clear as ruled by the Sports Disputes Tribunal early in the season. We've written to KPL twice affirming the same and we hope that there will be no circus around this again.

"It's the format adapted in countries running 18-team leagues. This is why we adopted the German federation way of doing things," Mwendwa said in light of awaited ruling by the Court of Appeal on the league composition.

FKF appealed a High Court ruling nullifying the promotion of Zoo Kericho and Nakumatt to the top flight but on October 3, the appellate court vacated orders to suspend the two pending a ruling.

Should the Court of Appeal uphold High Court Judge John Mativo's ruling, KPL will rely on article 16 (c) of their constitution for direction. The article states: "If any club ceases to be a member of the league other than by reason of relegation after the end of the season but before the Governing Council has fixed the dates of league matches for the next season, the council may invite the relegated club which attained the highest position in the table at the end of the previous season to rejoin the league."

The rule was once applied in favour of Nakuru All Stars and City Stars in 2015 after the two had been relegated a season before following a disagreement between FKF, then under Sam Nyamweya, and KPL on the composition of the league.


Nation Journalists Feted at Merck Foundation Media Awards

NTV's Namukabo Werungah, Doreen Magak, Antony Wabwoba and former station head Pamela Asigi were among the big winners at… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 The Nation. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.