26 November 2017

Kenya: Kipkorir, Kibitok and Ayabei Win Stanchart Marathon

Brimin Kipkorir has won the Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon, beating Shadrack Kiptoo and Joshua Kipkorir.

Brimin braved a chilly rainy morning and a fall to win the 42 kilometre race in a record time of 2:12:39; in second place was Kiptoo (2:12:56) followed by Kipkorir (2:13:37).

Other winners were newcomer Felix Kibitok and Prague Marathon champion Valarie Ayabei who won the half marathon.

Kibitok broke away at the 18km mark to win men's race in 1 hour, 03 minutes and 26 seconds to defeat Ezekiel Mutai from Kaptagat, who grabbed the second place in 1:03:38 followed by Patrick Kipkorir (1:03:39), Kibitok's training mate.

Bernard Korir and Gilbert Kipkorch wrapped up the top five vanguard in 1:03:59 and 1:04:10 respectively.

Ayabei, who won last year's Valencia Marathon and finished third in this year's Berlin Marathon, clocked 1:11:05 to trounce second-placed Margaret Wangari (1:13:29) and Alicent Ruto, who came in third in 1:14:22.


Nation Journalists Feted at Merck Foundation Media Awards

NTV's Namukabo Werungah, Doreen Magak, Antony Wabwoba and former station head Pamela Asigi were among the big winners at… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 The Nation. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.