Zimbabwe: President Reassigns Permanent Secretaries

Photo: The Herald
President Emmerson Mnangagwa.
9 December 2017

President Emmerson Mnangagwa yesterday appointed and reassigned permanent secretaries, following the setting up of a new Government and appointment of Cabinet ministers.

The changes were announced by Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda in a statement to The Herald.

Mr George Charamba remains Secretary for Information, Media and Broadcasting Services, while Brigadier-General Gerald Gwinji retains his position as Secretary for Health and Child Care.

Also retaining their portfolios are Mr Munyaradzi Munodawafa (Mines and Mining Development) and Mrs Virginia Mabiza (Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs).

Ambassador Joey Bimha has been appointed Secretary for the renamed Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, while Dr Sylvia Utete-Masango retains her position as Secretary for Primary and Secondary Education.

Dr Thokozile Chitepo remains Secretary for Tourism and Hospitality Industry and Mr Melusi Matshiya is Secretary for Home Affairs and Culture.

Engineer Sam Kundishora is Secretary for Information, Communication and Cyber Security, while Mr Willard Manungo remains Secretary for Finance and Economic Development.

Mr Ngoni Masoka is Secretary for Labour and Social Welfare, while Mrs Abigail Shonhiwa is Secretary for Industry, Commerce and Enterprise Development.

Dr Desire Sibanda has been moved from being Secretary of Youth Development, Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment to Higher Education, Science and Technology Development.

He takes over from Professor Francis Gudyanga.

Mr George Magosvongwe, who was Secretary for Rural Development, Promotion and Preservation of Culture and Heritage has been moved to the Ministry of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing.

Dr Judith Kateera, who was Secretary for Macro-Economic Planning and Investment, has been appointed Secretary for Presidential Affairs, Monitoring and Implementation of Government Programmes.

Mr Prince Mupazviriho has been moved from the Ministry of Water Resources Development and Climate to Sport, Arts and Recreation, while Ambassador Grace Mutandiro moves to the Ministry of Environment, Water and Climate from the Ministry of Lands and Rural Resettlement.

Engineer George Mlilo is now Secretary for Transport and Infrastructural Development, leaving the Ministry of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing.

Mrs Sibusisiwe Zembe is Secretary for Women and Youth Affairs, while Mr Ringson Chitsiko is Secretary for Lands, Agriculture and Rural Resettlement.

Mr Martin Rushwaya is Secretary for the renamed Ministry of Defence, Security and War Veterans.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: The Herald

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.