11 December 2017

Kenya: EALA Elections Top Agenda This Week Before Parliament Goes on Recess

Nairobi — Parliament is this week set to begin constituting key committees starting Wednesday, before going on the long Christmas recess.

Their first agenda on Wednesday will be to approve names to various committees and elect the chairpersons and the vice-chairpersons.

On Monday, the Committee on Selection which is chaired by Majority Leader Aden Duale will be meeting to plan the committees as per the applications received on members' preferences.

There has been intense lobbying by MPs keen to sit on influential committees or chair them.

Also on the agenda is the election of EALA lawmakers which has dragged on for several months.

Last Thursday, both Houses of Parliament adopted a report by the Joint Parliamentary Committee on the selection of members to the Arusha-based regional assembly paving way for the election on Thursday.

The committee co-chaired by MP Katoo ole Metito (Kajiado South) and his Senate counterpart Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho) upon vetting the nominees from the two major coalitions dropped two nominees because they had not resigned from their jobs in line with the Constitution and the Elections Act.

Julie Njeri Waweru (Jubilee) and Winfred Mutua (National Super Alliance) were blocked by the joint committee.

The report noted that Waweru is one of the directors of the Kenya Youth Enterprise Fund while Mutua is a sitting member of the Machakos County Assembly.

The EALA elections Act provides that an individual is disqualified from being elected a member if they are a public officer.

The Clerk of the National Assembly, Michael Sialai and his Senate colleague Jeremiah Nyegenye who acted as presiding officers in the nominees' vetting, had accepted Mutua's nomination papers to enable the committee decide whether she qualifies for election to the regional assembly.

The committee also threw out names of Cheruiyot Tamogei, Hellen Makone, Billy Baltazar and Humphrey Njuguna, who submitted their applications as independent candidates, as they did not have the support of at least 1,000 signatures of registered voters as per the elections law.

Despite claiming to be independent, they were also found to be members of the Jubilee Party.

Kenya is the only state in the East African Community that is yet to submit the names of its nine representatives.


Nation Journalists Feted at Merck Foundation Media Awards

NTV's Namukabo Werungah, Doreen Magak, Antony Wabwoba and former station head Pamela Asigi were among the big winners at… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2017 Capital FM. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.