3 January 2018

South Africa: Ellis Names Squad to Face Sweden, Rewards in-Form Players

Interim head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana, Desiree Ellis, has named a squad of 26 players to face Sweden in two matches.

Ellis has called up the bulk of the team that played at the 2017 COSAFA Women's Championship held in Zimbabwe in September last year, and mixed it up with several overseas-based players who haven't been in the squad for a while.

These include the USA-based quartet of Kaylin Swart, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Amogelang Motau and Kelso Peskin.

The former Banyana Banyana captain has also rewarded players that participated in the end-of-the year 2017 Sasol League National Championship that was staged in Nelspruit early in December - like Yonelo Keto (Thunderbirds), Kgaelebane Mohlakoana and Melinda Kgadiete (both Bloemfontein Celtic), Neliswa Luthuli and Sduduzo Dlamini (both Sunflower FC)

Ellis has also recalled midfielder Amanda Dlamini after a long absence from the national team.

Banyana Banyana will assemble for camp on Sunday, 14 January.

The first clash between South Africa and Sweden is a practice match, which will take place on Thursday, 18 January 2018, and will take place behind closed doors at a venue still to be announced.

The second encounter is an international friendly, and this will take place at the Cape Town Stadium on Sunday, 21 January 2018.

Kickoff is at 14h00.

This will be the third time the two nations meet.

The first clash took place in 2012 at the London Olympic Games - Sweden won the match 4-1.

Their last meeting was also at the Olympic Games - in 2016 in Brazil, where South Africa lost 1-0.

Sweden is currently ranked 10th in the world and 5th in Europe, while South Africa is 54nd and 5th in the world and on the African continent respectively.

Banyana Banyana squad to face Sweden:


1. Andile DLAMINI Mamelodi Sundowns FC Johannesburg

2. Yolula TSAWE JVW FC Johannesburg

3. Kaylin SWART Menlo College USA


4. Nothando VILAKAZI Palace Super Falcons FC Johannesburg

5. Noko MATLOU Ma -Indies FC Polokwane

6. Janine VAN WYK Houston Dash USA

7. Bambanani MBANE Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein

8. Lebohang RAMALEPE Ma-Indies Polokwane

9. Regina MOGOLOLA University Pretoria Pretoria

10. Zanele NHLAPO Mamelodi Sundowns Johannesburg

11. Yonelo KETO Thunderbirds Port Elizabeth


12. Leandra SMEDA UWC Ladies Cape Town

13. Refiloe JANE TUT-PTA Pretoria

14. Amanda DLAMINI JVW FC Johannesburg

15. Kholosa BIYANA UKZN Durban

16. Kgaelebane MOHLAKOANA Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein

17. Amogelang MOTAU Oral Roberts University / UWC Ladies FC USA / Cape Town

18. Rachel SEBATI TUT -PTA Pretoria

19. Neliswa LUTHULI Sunflower FC Durban

20. Nompumelelo NYANDENI JVW FC Johannesburg


21. Melinda KGADIETE Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein

22. Thembi KGATLANA UWC Ladies Cape Town

23. Kelso PESKIN Lamar University / UWC Ladies FC USA /Cape Town

24. Jermaine SEOPOSENWE Samford University USA

25. Chantelle ESAU Mamelodi Sundowns Johannesburg

26. Sduduzo DLAMINI Sunflower FC Durban

South Africa

Former Public Broadcaster Chief Loses Bid to Get His Job Back

Former SABC chief operating officer (COO) Hlaudi Motsoeneng has lost his bid to get his job back at the Commission for… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.