Kenya: CS Fred Matiang'i Lists NRM an Outlawed Group

Opiyo Wandayi, a member of the Parliamentary wing of the National Resistance Movement, speaks during a press conference at their Okoa Kenya office, Nairobi (file photo).
30 January 2018

National Resistance Movement, an arm of opposition Nasa has been declared an organised criminal group, after its officials sworn-in Raila Odinga as the peoples' president.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'i, in making the declaration, cited Prevention of Organised Crimes Act 2010.

"In exercise of the powers conferred by section 22 of the Act, the Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Interior and Co-ordination of National Government declares National Resistance Movement (NRM) to be organised criminal group for the purposes of the Act," according to a gazette notice dated January 30.

In doing so, the CS placed NRM on a list that also includes terrorists groups like Al-Shabaab and Al-Qaeda.

Other groups like Mungiki, which is involved in murders and kidnappings are also in the list.

NRM agitates for electoral reforms and boycott of products and services provided by companies deemed to be pro-government.

Members of the public are usually warned against getting involved in activities of proscribed groups.

Harsh penalties, including life imprisonment and hefty fines of up to Sh1 million are imposed on those who do.

Previous ministers in charge of Security have on occasions proscribed various groups.

Other groups in the outlawed list are:

1. Al-Shabaab

2. Amachuma

3. Angola Msumbiji

4. Banyamulenge

5. Baghdad Boys

6. Charo Shutu

7. Chinkororo

8. Coast Housing Land Network

9. Congo by Force

10. Dallas Muslim Youth

11. Forty Brothers

12. Forty-two Brothers

13. Jeshi la Embakasi

14. Jeshi la Mzee

15. Jeshi la King'ole

16. Japo Group

17. Kamjesh

18. Kamukunji Youth Group

19. Kaya Bombo Youth

20. Kenya Youth Alliance

21. Kosovo Boys

22. Kuzacha

23. Makande Army

24. Mombasa Republican Council

25. Mungiki Movement, Mungiki Organisation, Mungiki Sect

28. Republican Revolutionary Council

29. Sabaot Land Defence Force

30. Sakina Youth

31. Sungu Sungu

32. Siafu

33. Taliban

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.