12 April 2018

Zambia: Lungu Declares 5 New East Districts

President Edgar Lungu has declared five new districts in Eastern Province and one in Luapula Province to help foster rural development and easy administration in the affected areas.

The new districts in Eastern Province are Chasefu, Chipangali, Kasenengwa, Lumezi and Lusangazi.

Chifunabuli is now a district in Luapula.

This is contained in a Statutory Instrument (SI) Number 26 of 2018 for Provincial and District Boundaries Act Order of 2018.

The Order consequently deleted boundaries of Lundazi, Chipata and Petauke in Eastern Province and Samfya in Luapula Province which had previously affected the new districts.

"The second schedule to the Order is amended by deletion of boundary descriptions of the said districts and the substitution therefore of the boundary descriptions set out in the appendix," the SI read.


Lungu Orders Arrest of 'Those Perpetrating Violence'

Zambian President Edgar Lungu on Monday sent a strong message to instigators of political violence, saying they were… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 The Times of Zambia. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.