15 April 2018

Nigeria: Davido Wins Big At 2018 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards

Photo: Davido/Instagram

Nigerian pop artiste, Davido, won big at the just concluded Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMAs).

The DMW boss edged out his Nigerian/African counterparts including Wizkid, Too Fan, Cassper Nyovest, Nasty C, Olamide and Tiwa Savage to take home the prestigious "African artiste of the Year" award.

Nigerian singer, Runtown, won the same award in 2017.

The new win adds to Davido's inventory of awards.

At home, the superstar singer leads this year's Headies Awards nominees list with the highest number of nods - six (6), with two of his hit singles (IF and FIA) competing in the same category "Best pop single".

Prolific Ghanaian rapper, Sarkodie, took home "Hiplife/Hip-hop Artiste of the Year" and "Best rapper of the year" respectively while veteran Ghanaian singer, Naa Amanua Dodoo, was honoured with the "Lifetime achievement Award"

The event was held at the International Conference Centre in Accra, Ghana.

See full list of winners below:

Highlife Song Of the Year

Dream - Kumi Guitar

Bronya - Wutah

Odo - KiDi - WINNER

Angela - Kuami Eugene

Over - R2bees

Hustle - Ebony

Gospel Song Of The Year

Bo Noo Ni - Joe Mettle ft Loigi Maclean - WINNER

Boot 4 Boot- Joyce Blessing

Obi Nyanime - Patience Nyarko

Efatawo - Nacee

Adom - Gifty Osei

Jehovah - Ceccy Twum

Hiplife Song of the Year

Total Cheat - Fancy Gadam ft Sarkodie - WINNER

Boys Boys - Nacee F. Guru

Obi Agyi Obi Girl - Captain Planet ft Kofi Kinataa

Ayoo - Shatta Wale

One Corner - Patapaa

Hip-Hop Song Of The Year

State Of The Art - Teephlow

Light It Up - Sarkodie

Grind Day (Remix) - Kwesi Arthur ft Sarkodie & Medikal - WINNER

Pen and Paper - Kojo-Cue & Shaker

Dear God - B4Bonah

Reggae/Dancehall Song Of The Year

Until The Dawn - Efya

My Own - Samini - WINNER

My Name - Stonebwoy

Faya Burn Dem - Article Wan

Rewind - Mzvee

Dem Confuse - Shatta Wale

Afro Pop Song Of The Year

Makoma - Adina

Oh Yeah - King Promise

Say You Love Me -KiDi

Sing My Name -MzVee

Jennifer Lomotey - Kurl Songz

Sponsor - Ebony - WINNER

My Baby - Magnom

Come From Afar - Stonebwoy

Gospel Artiste Of The Year

Joyce Blessing

Patience Nyarko

Joe Mettle - WINNER

Celestine Donkor


Gifty Osei

HighLife Artiste Of The Year



Kuami Eugene - WINNER


Reggae/Dancehall Artiste Of The Year

Shatta Wale


Stonebwoy - WINNER


Songwriter Of The Year

Kumi Guitar: Dream - Kumi Guitar

Joe Mettle: Bo Noo Ni - Joe Mettle

Bullet: Maame Hw3 - Ebony - WINNER

Kofi Kinaata: Last Show - Willis Beatz

Samini: My Own - Samini

Stonebwoy: My Name - Stonebwoy

Best Music Video Of The Year

Dream - Kumi Guitar - Abass

Selfish - King Promise - Vertex

My Girl - B4Bonah - David Nicol Sey

Wedding Car - Opanka - Bra Shizzle

Obi Agyi Obi Girl - Captain Planet - Gyo-Phamous Filmz - WINNER

Pen & Paper - Kojo Cue & Shaker - E Kumodzi

Record Of The Year

Dream - Kumi Guitar

My Own - Samini

Glory - Sarkodie

State Of The Art - Teephlow - WINNER

Hiplife/Hip-hop Artiste of the Year



Captain Planet

Kwesi Arthur

Sarkodie - WINNER


Best Male Vocal Performance

Joe Mettle - Bo No Nii - WINNER

King Promise - Selfish

Kidi - Odo

Kuami Eugene - Angela

Mugeez - Over

Samini - My Own

Best Female Vocal Performance

Adina - Makoma - WINNER

Nana Yaa - Don't Leave Me Alone

Efya - Love

Mzvee - Bright Lights

Becca - Summuy3

Best Group of the Year



Wutah - WINNER

Best Rapper of the Year

Eno Barony - Fear No Man

Teflon - Phlowducation

Sarkodie - Light It Up - WINNER

Shaker - Pen and Paper

Ko-jo Cue - Pen and Paper

Strongman - Transformer

Best Collaboration of the Year

Bo Noo Ni - Joe Mettle Ft Luigi Maclean

Sing My Name Remix-- Mzvee Ft Patoranking

Jennifer Lomotey-- Kurl Songs ft Sarkodie

Pain Killer-- Sarkodie ft Runtown

Taking Over-- Shatta Wale Ft S.M Militants - WINNER

Obi Agye Obi Girl-- Captain Planet ft Kofi Kinata

Na Wash-- Becca ft Patoranking

African Artiste of the Year

Davido - WINNER


Too Fan

Cassper Nyovest

Nasty C

Tiwa Savage


Best New Artiste of the Year

King Promise

Kurl Songz


Kuami Eugene - WINNER


Kwesi Arthur


Album of the Year

Epistles Of Mama - Stonebwoy

Highest - Sarkodie

Daavi - Mzvee

Bonyfied - Ebony - WINNER

Song of the Year

Joe Mettle - Bo No Nii

Shatta Wale - Ayoo

King Promise - Oh Yeah

Sarkodie ft Runtown -Painkiller

Patapaa - One Corner

Ebony - Sponsor

Kuami Eugene- Angela

KiDi - Odo

Shatta Wale ft S.M Militants - Taking Over

Fancy Gandam ft Sarkodie - Total Cheat - WINNER

Magnom-My Baby

Captain Planet ft Kofi Kinaata - Obi Agi Obi Girl

Wutah - Bronya

Artiste of the Year For VGMAs 2018

Joe Mettle

Ebony - WINNER

Shatta Wale



UNSUNG Artiste Of The Year 2018

Kelvyn Boy - WINNER

Dope Nation

Dhat Gyal


Real MC


Lifetime Achievement Award

Naa Amanua Dodoo - WINNER


Cybercrime - Benin Republic Releases Seven Nigerian Students

Seven out of the 12 Nigerian students detained on allegations of Cybercrime have been released in Benin Republic, says… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 Premium Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.