15 April 2018

Kenya: UON Students Oppose New Leader, Cite 'Sham' Election

Photo: Daily Nation
The University of Nairobi.

Police on Sunday afternoon battled University of Nairobi students who were protesting the swearing-in of student leader Manyara Muchui.

Students demonstrated in the campus, burning tyres, destroying school facilities and stoning cars along Waiyaki Way, before police officers were deployed to disperse them.

The students claimed that the school administration led by Vice Chancellor Peter Mbithi had imposed University of Nairobi Students Association (UNSA) leaders on them.

"We elected delegates on Friday, April 13, and the election for the position of the chairman was to be held on Thursday, April 19, but we woke up [Sunday] shocked to learn of the early morning swearing-in of Anthony Manyara as the chairman of UNSA," one of the aspirants for the chairmanship, Job Omondi Otieno (Jahome) said.

Ms Rebecca Kemunto was also sworn in as the Vice chairperson.


Mr Otieno said the university management had been unfair to the other candidates, reiterating that the students would not settle for leaders they had not elected.

Mr Otieno was one of the four aspirants who were locked out of the race by the administration over disciplinary and academic issues.

The other aspirants included Jamal, Felix Apiyo, Abdi Birkan and Daphine Githuku.

Mr Manyara said he was duly sworn-in as there was no other candidate in the race for chairmanship, but other students said there were five candidates for the position, questioning why the management rushed to swear him in early Sunday morning yet the elections were still pending.

"This is a sham, they swore him in secretly because they knew that the students would protest. UNSA is a sham. We want SONU back," Mr Otieno said.

The University of Nairobi Students Association, UNSA (formerly SONU) constitution stipulates that the chairman should be elected by the delegates chosen by the students.

The swearing in of Mr Manyara was met with mixed reactions from the students on their Facebook page, New Comrades Forum.


Nation Journalists Feted at Merck Foundation Media Awards

NTV's Namukabo Werungah, Doreen Magak, Antony Wabwoba and former station head Pamela Asigi were among the big winners at… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 The Nation. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.