16 April 2018

Kenya: Crisis at IEBC as Commissioners Quit Citing Disunity

Photo: Capital FM
Vice-Chairperson Consolata Nkatha, Commissioners Paul Kurgat and Margaret Mwachanya announcing their exit from IEBC.

Nairobi — Three commissioners at the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission led by Vice Chairperson Consolata Nkatha, Paul Kurgat and Margaret Mwachanya have resigned citing disunity in their ranks.

In a joint statement issued by the three Monday, the commissioners expressed concern over external meddling g in the commission's affairs saying Chairperson Wafula Chebukati has failed to provide leadership.

The resignation of the three leaves the commission technically dysfunctional with only Chebukati, and Commissioners Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye remaining put.

Commissioner Roselyn Akombe was the first IEBC commissioner to call it quit at the height of 2017's repeat presidential poll.

More on This

Connie Maina, Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat Resign From IEBC

The conflict at the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) boiled over on Monday after half of the… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 Capital FM. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.