19 April 2018

Kenya: Nairobi to Get Sh15 Bilion Lion's Share of Revenue

Nairobi County has maintained its lead position as the highest receiver of the national shareable revenue.

The County Allocation Revenue Bill 2018, which was introduced to the Senate on Wednesday, shows that the capital city will receive a total of Sh15.7 billion, the single largest portion of the funds since devolution was implemented five years ago.

The figure is a 0.2 ratio increase from what the county received in last year's allocation.

The capital is followed by Kilifi County, which has dislodged Turkana County from the second position.

It will receive Sh10.8 billion. Turkana will get Sh10.7 billion, up from Sh10 billion in the last allocation.


Lamu, Tharaka/Nithi and Elgeyo/Marakwet counties are at the bottom of the log in the Sh314 billion set out to be shared by counties in the next financial year.

Mandera County, which was the third highest, has been dislodged.

In the next budget, it will get Sh10.1 billion, coming fifth after Kakamega, which will get Sh10.3 billion, up from Sh9.7 billion in the current year.

Lamu County will get the least, Sh3.5 billion, followed by Tharaka/Nithi (Sh3.6 billion), Elgeyo/Marakwet (Sh3.8 billion) and Isiolo (Sh3.9 billion).

"The bill proposes to allocate a total of Sh372.7 billion of resources raised nationally to counties.

"This is equivalent to Sh39.8 per cent of the most recently audited revenue, which has been approved by the National Assembly for financial year 2013/14," Finance Committee chairman Mohammed Mahamud, the sponsor of the bill, said.

"This bill spells out the exact allocation to each county from the revenue raised nationally. It also shares the conditional allocation for counties."


Also, the counties shared Sh59 billion conditional allocation (loans and grants) meant for level five hospitals.

Other counties include Nakuru (Sh909 million), Kisii (Sh917 million), Meru (Sh882 million), Machakos (Sh881 million), Mombasa (Sh868 million), Kisumu (Sh813 million), Nyeri (Sh783 million), Garissa (Sh776 million) and Embu (Sh667 million).

Each county will also receive Sh200 million for the Medical Leasing Equipment Scheme, totally Sh9.4 billion.

Eleven counties will receive Sh4.3 billion shared amongst them for level five hospitals, which include Kiambu (Sh539 million), Kakamega (Sh 427 million), Kisii (Sh416 million), Nyeri (Sh 408 million), Mombasa (Sh 388 million), Machakos (Sh384 million), Meru (Sh374 million), Kisumu (Sh369 million), Nakuru (Sh374 million), Garissa (Sh345 million) and Embu (Sh301 million).


Detectives Smash Notorious Laptop Theft Syndicate

Isaiah Aluodo Belek passes for a regular well-to-do city gentleman. In his trademark blue suit, cut to fit, and… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 The Nation. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.