24 April 2018

Rwanda: She-Amavubi Enter Camp Ahead of Cecafa Cup

The National Women Team, 'She-Amavubi', yesterday started residential training ahead of Cecafa Women Challenge Cup which runs from May 11-22 in Kigali.

The tournament will attract eight countries, namely; Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zanzibar, Burundi, Ethiopia, Djibouti and hosts Rwanda. Eritrea, Sudan and South Sudan are yet to confirm participation.

The Rwandans held their first phase of preparations last week which attracted 40 players after which coach Jean Baptiste Kayiranga trimmed the squad down to 30 players.

The selected players are staying at La Palisse Hotel in Nyamata and will hold training sessions at Ferwafa turf until Thursday when they will be released back to their clubs.

Rwanda will be aiming to win the tournament for the first time but faces strong opposition from defending champions Tanzania, Ethiopia, and Kenya who have had competitive women teams in recent international competitions.

At the 2016 edition in Uganda, the She-Amavubi, then under the tutelage of Grace Nyinawumuntu, were eliminated in the group stage after suffering defeats to Tanzania and Ethiopia.

Tanzania eventually won the trophy after beating Kenya in the final while Ethiopia overcame hosts Uganda to take third place.

Before 2016, the tournament had not taken place since 1989. World football governing body (FIFA) offered US$330,000 (about Rwf277.8 million) towards this year's Cecafa Women Challenge Cup.

The provisional 30-woman squad

Goalkeepers: Judith Nyirabashyitsi (AS Kigali), Helene Uwizeyimana (AS Kigali) and Zakia Umubyeyi (Scandinavia).

Defenders: Joselyne Mukantaganira (AS Kigali), Anne Marie Nyirahabimana (Scandinavia), Sifa Uwanyirigirira (AS Kigali), Milliam Nyiransanzebera (Kamonyi), Edith Umulisa (Scandinavia), Louise Maniraguha (AS Kigali), Immacule Uwimbabazi (Kamonyi), Constance Muhawimana (Inyemera), Jeanne Claire Mataye Uwamahoro (AS Kigali), and Angelique Umwizerwa (AS Kigali).

Midfielders: Gloria Sifa Nibagwire (Scandinavia), Alice Karimba (AS Kigali), Jeannette Mukeshimana (AS Kigali), Marta Nyiramwiza (AS Kigali), Dorothe Mukeshimana (AS Kigali), Kevine Uwihirwe (Scandinavia) and Diane Umumararungu (Kamonyi).

Forwards: Dudja Umwaliwase (AS Kigali), Marie Claire Mushimiyimana (Scandinavia), Yvonne Umuhoza (ES Mutunda), Anne Marie Ibangarye (Scandinavia), Lyberata Ntibagwire (AS Kigali), Sophie Madudu Niyomugaba (AS Kigali), Callixte Iradukunda (AS Kigali), Djamila Mwiza Abimana (Scandinavia), Florence Manizabayo (AS Kigali), and Clautilde Ufitinema (AS Kigali).


PSF Awards Best Exhibitors

The official closing of the 21st Rwanda International Trade Fair (RITF), commonly known as expo, saw a number of… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.